Skip to content

Arts & crafts & food

September 12, 2010

It’s chilly here this morning! The high is only expected to hit around 73 or so but right now, it’s overcast, rainy and in the 50s. I’m bundling up to cheer on my dad at his half-marathon before church. It’s going to be another day with plenty of walking around.

Side note: Has anyone seen pumpkin spice syrup for sale? I’m dying to make my own pumpkin spice lattes!

Going back to yesterday…

After spending an hour or so at DC VegFest, the girls and I walked downtown for Arts on Foot, an arts & crafts festival at Gallery Place. Tons of people, vendors and performers. It was packed!

I was wishing I hadn’t eaten quite so many snacks at VegFest because there were plenty of restaurants selling small plates for a bargain.

We met up with Simone and spent some time admiring the art. I was tempted by a few pieces but ended up walking away empty-handed. Still, it was fun to explore.

This craftsman was selling perfect oatmeal bowls. Okay, he advertising them as being for chowder, but they would have been ideal for oats. Sadly, he only took cash and my wallet was cash-less.

Did I mention the performers?

By this point in the day, I was wiped. We spent some time at Teaism where I tried a refreshing chai tea shake (chai tea mixed with cinnamon gelato), then took a nice walk up to Dupont Circle to hop on the Metro. What a busy day!

I’m not sure what this afternoon will hold. Fingers crossed for no rain and some sunshine!

Sunday: lazy day or active?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 8:18 am

    I love pumpkin spice lattes- they are one thing I really miss but I had to give up coffee a couple of years ago, it bothers my stomach. BUT I do LOVE LOVE when they are doing little mini samples of pumpkin spice lattes because then I can have a little bit.
    Looks like a great day you had yesterday. It’s chilly and cloudy here this morning too, fall is definitely in the air!

  2. Gretchen permalink
    September 12, 2010 9:44 am

    I haven’t tried this- actually I’ve never tried pumpkin spice lattes- buuut I came across this post and maybe it’ll be what you’re looking for: http://www.savvyeat.com/coffee-shop-pumpkin-syrup/

Trackbacks

  1. Hobbies: cooking, eating, talking & writing about food « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

