Skip to content

Upgrade/downgrade

September 9, 2010

Blogging is a funny thing. Most (many? all? some?) of us love checking stats and seeing where people are visiting from, what funny keywords brought them here and, of course, how many visitors we have.

As fellow bloggers know, numbers can fluctuate wildly. There are so many bloggers in this fantastic community and while some see thousands of visitors a day, others get just dozens or a few hundred. I love, though, that you see the same names and faces popping up on many different blogs — there’s such great overlap!

I’ve been wanting to make some changes to the blog and want your feedback. Some are appearance changes–more columns, a different header, etc.–and others are content-related.

What do you want to see on Travel Eat Repeat? Food and travel will always be the focus but what keeps you coming back–or makes you not want to read? Be honest and be critical.

You can leave comments below or be totally anonymous and let me know on this easy form. (The question box is called ‘Ask Me Anything’ so if you have a burning question, you can put it there too and I’ll answer 😉 ).

I’m genuinely curious to know what you want to read, see and learn about, as well as what totally turns you off. Recipes? Restaurants? Reading recommendations? Less alliteration, perhaps? 😀

And if anyone suggests more international travel, I’m fully prepared and willing to take a free flight abroad. Just send me the flight and hotel info. 😉

Comment. Ask here. Email me. I want to know.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 9:55 am

    Go for it with the layout changes you want to make. I think they could only improve things!

    As far as content, I really love reading about the different events you go to, restaurants you try out, new recipes, etc.

    I really like your writing style, it’s light and breezy and always fun and I think more than anything that’s what keeps me coming back!

  2. September 9, 2010 1:56 pm

    I just happened to stumble onto your blog & I just moved to the DC area myself! So of course I’d like to see more of your take on local places, like restaurants and also more like your entry on the C&O Canal. Tasty, but simple recipes are also always a plus.

    Aesthetically, I think if you could make your images just a teeeeeny bit bigger, that’d be great. (But please don’t innundate us with 20 pictures of the same thing at a dozen different angles like a lot of other bloggers do these days. I really love that you don’t do that.)

    Otherwise, I love that you also focus on travel, which is also one of my greatest loves & not something I get to indulge in – so I can vicariously live through you! 🙂 And I think you have a great bloggy writing style too.

  3. September 9, 2010 5:13 pm

    Ha. I love shiningeyes’s second comment. There are some bloggers who seriously post a pic of the same thing over and over… just different angles.

    I love your writing style and that you keep things brief and to the point. I do generally skim restaurant reviews and such (I don’t comment on food much though). I would like to read more life stuff!

  4. September 9, 2010 6:30 pm

    I’ve loved reading your posts about the D.C. and Maryland area. There are no other blogs I read concentrated in your area, and I love learning about different parts of the country. Also, I’ve enjoyed the post about your job or the things you write there. Again, it’s not something I’m reading on other blogs which is really nice. Keep it up! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

