Skip to content

End of summer evening

September 9, 2010

Autumn is in the air–can you feel it?

When my dad invited me over for dinner tonight and asked what I wanted there was just one request: grilling.

You see, I live in an apartment without a deck or rooftop access. My summer grilling has been confined to the George Foreman grill–not that I dislike the Foreman, but it can’t compare to cooking over an open flame.

I walked in the door tonight and immediately saw this:

Exactly what I was craving!

After a long day at work–it’s torture staring out at that blue sky and sunshine, I tell you!–it was time for a glass of wine. We’ve been searching for the perfect sauvignon blanc since drinking glasses of Skylark in New Zealand. We can’t track it down in America!

This was pretty good though. New Zealand sauvignon blancs are my favorite wines.

Dinner was ready by the time I arrived. My job was roasting potatoes and, surprise surprise, it ended up taking a lot longer making potatoes for six than potatoes for one. An hour in the oven and they were still a little al dente.

My plate was filled to the brim: salmon, veggie kabob (squash, onions, tomatoes, zucchini), ratatouille, potatoes and salad.

Even Lexie wanted a bite!

Sorry, it doesn’t matter how cute you look.

You would think that huge plate of grilled goodness would be enough but, oh no, there was cake. Chocolate mousse cake, to be exact.

By this point, it was dark outside. The days are getting shorter and shorter–the only part of fall I don’t like.

That definitely put me over the top, but in a good way! 😀 Thanks for the great dinner, family!

Don’t forget to let me know what changes, improvements and adjustments I can make to Travel Eat Repeat so that you enjoy the blog even more. Be open, honest and critical, please!

There are some fun events coming up this weekend including a couple of awesome festivals. Fall=festivals here in DC so be prepared.

Do you have a grill? Do you use it? Do you want to send me one–and balcony to use it on? 😉

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 6:54 am

    We got a grill a couple months ago. I think we’ve used it maybe 5 times? I like it though.

    I wish it would feel like fall here!

  2. September 10, 2010 7:03 am

    Yum– looks like the perfect end of summer meal! I love our grill…I miss it when the weather turns cold!

  3. Dad permalink
    September 10, 2010 7:14 am

    :-}

  4. September 10, 2010 9:09 am

    We stole a bbq from my neighbours. Well, not really. They put it out the to trash when they bought a new one and my husband wheeled it over to our backyard. We finally have it up and running!

  5. September 10, 2010 10:33 am

    We have a gas grill and we use a LOT! Like every few days in the summer/fall.

  6. September 10, 2010 1:21 pm

    Oh I can’t wait for festivals. The cooler temperatures are definitely a relief after the kind of summer that we’ve had. I’m confined to my George Forman as well. If I ever get a house, we’ll definitely be getting a grill.

Leave a Reply

