Skip to content

Apples, apples everywhere

September 7, 2010

I am up to my ears in apples.

media.mlive.com

Okay, maybe not quite that many… but I have a lot!

I’m trying to incorporate them into more dishes starting with yesterday’s breakfast (yes, I’m stepping back in time): Apple Spice Oat Cakes, based on this recipe. (really want to make the original version too!)

Before starting, I cored, peeled and chopped one apple and sprinkled a little cinnamon on top. I also mixed in a couple tablespoons of water and microwaved that for 3 minutes so the apple would soften. Add half of the apples to the rest of the ingredients (the other half is for topping):

Using what was in the cabinets, I combined:

1/4 cup oats
1/4 oat bran
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup almond milk
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract

I love this recipe because it’s egg-free (I never have eggs on-hand) and so versatile.

Mix all of the ingredients together along with half of the apples and form pancakes in a pan coated with cooked spray. Cook for 3-4 minutes on each side until lightly browned. Top with the remaining apples and a little maple syrup.

So good! I rarely make pancakes for breakfast so this was a nice change of pace. Plus, my mom has a patio so it was fantastic to eat outside. My next apartment definitely needs a balcony.

Later in the afternoon, I was still in a baking mood and made a batch of Vegan Apple Cinnamon Muffins.

I like them chunky. 😉

In place of egg in the recipe, I used a flax egg (1 tbsp flaxseed meal + 3 tbsp water):

1 cup oat bran
1 1/4 whole wheat flour
2 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup applesauce, unsweetened
2 gala apples, peeled, cored and chopped
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup organic vanilla yogurt
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix wet and dry ingredients separately before combining, adding the apples last. Spoon into muffin tins and bake for 15 minutes at 400*. The house will begin to smell amazing as they cook on.

These are definitely my snack for the rest of the week!

What’s your favorite apple recipe? I still have tons of fruit to get through!

Leave a Reply

