Skip to content

Labor Day grilling

September 6, 2010

Did you all have a relaxing Labor Day? I did absolutely nothing today–exercised, baked, read and, naturally, had to grill in keeping with Labor Day tradition. No burgers for me though. Instead, it was all about eggplant.

So many fresh tastes thanks to Saturday’s fantastic farmer’s market! I grilled the eggplant in a marinade recommended by Allie: 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1 tsp dijon mustard and a dash of S&P. 5 minutes on each side and served on a potato roll with fresh spinach, tomato, onion and dill.

All that’s missing is the ketchup. 😀

On the side, roasted potatoes and green beans tossed with olive oil, S&P and parsley and popped in a 400* oven for 40 minutes.

I love dinners like this. Really fresh and filling, but also easy to prepare. That’s my kind of dinner!

So last night I was flipping the channels while at my mom’s house and stumbled onto this beauty.

Let’s go in for a closer look:

Would you want to buy clothes from this woman? Don’t get me wrong, I love a good sparkle but is a sweatband necessary?

I have been absolutely exhausted this weekend and can’t figure out why. It’s times like these I wish I could sleep later than 7:30 on weekend mornings. At least I’m great at going to bed at night! 😀

What time do you wake up on weekends when you don’t have to set an alarm? I always thought it was strange that my parents woke up so early when they didn’t have work but now… that’s me!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 6:26 pm

    Yeah if I sleep until 7:30 I am very happy with myself haha, so clearly I am terrible at sleeping late. Though I have to admit that was always me- even in college I’d go to bed at like 2 on the weekends and still be up by 9.

    Your dinner looks delicious. I love simple to prepare and fresh dinners yum.

    • September 6, 2010 8:05 pm

      Same! I think I slept in until 10 once in college and was completely disoriented the rest of the day. Always had to wait for everyone else to wake up! 😉

  2. September 7, 2010 5:41 am

    I love sleeping in! even though I would go to bed early I can easily sleep until 10-12 on Saturdays 🙂

  3. September 7, 2010 6:57 am

    I usually wake up around 7:30 on weekends, sometimes earlier and sometimes later depending on how late I’ve gone to bed the night before.

Trackbacks

  1. Eggplant, take 2 «
  2. Taste > Looks «

Leave a Reply

