Skip to content

Farm finds & hanging with horses

September 5, 2010

Sundays are especially sweet when in the middle of a long weekend sandwich, aren’t they? Love, love, love it!

Back to Westminster adventures… (if you missed part 1, be sure to check out the homemade pie & ice cream!)

After eating to our hearts’ and stomachs’ content, it was time to check out the adjacent farmer’s market. Look at the huge squash Allie found:

There was so much fresh, local, gorgeous produce to be had.

Allie and I were actually so inspired by all the stunning produce that we started thinking of a new concept for a blog to do together–because, you know, I don’t have enough blogs. We’re still working out the details but I’ll definitely let you all know!

This was the first week I’ve seen pumpkins at the farmer’s market. Guess fall really is just around the corner. I’ve never actually cooked a pumpkin, though, choosing instead to buy the canned pureed stuff. How do/can/should I prepare pumpkin?

I walked away with a bag brimming with apples, green beans, peppers, tomatoes and an eggplant. Expect to see them all show up in dinners this week, with a great recipe for eggplant burgers coming soon. :mrgreen:

We headed back to Allie’s house before driving home. Her family has two horses, Moe and Tony.

Confession: Horses freak me out a little. They are just so big. With big teeth. And big muscles. I tried feeding Tony but… yea, after two botched attempts at handing him an apple, I let Allie take care of the snack. 😉

Can horses sense apprehension?

What a beautiful day! It was definitely ideal for driving in the country, being in the sunshine and kicking off a long weekend.

Driving home, we stopped at Home Goods and I picked up some super cute dishes and a dresser! All will be revealed later this week.

Time to head off for church and brunch. You know, the usual Sunday routine. See ya later!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2010 10:03 pm

    I totally get your horse fear. I got bitten by one once! It was cause I was feeding it wrong and it thought my finger was a carrot… but in the future I will not be doing that!

  2. Simone permalink
    September 7, 2010 2:03 pm

    gahhhhh we need to go back to homegoods! i heart that store!

  3. Marie permalink
    September 11, 2010 9:35 am

    What a fun day! I’m only scared of getting caught behind a horse… for obvious reasons 😉 Also, I LOVE your shirt!

Trackbacks

  1. Labor Day grilling «
  2. Perfection «
  3. Silverdocs 2011: Cafeteria Man « Travel Eat Repeat
  4. Baugher’s Orchard and Restaurant: Day Trippin’ « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

