Skip to content

Cruising along the canal

September 4, 2010

Today is my ideal temperature. High ’70s, with a bright blue sky, zero humidity and a light breeze.

I got up and, after reading the paper for a bit, knew I wanted to head outside immediately. I ended up doing a five-mile loop, walking while listening to ‘This American Life’ on my iPod.

Because I’m meeting friends shortly, there wasn’t time to head over to the C&O Canal for my walk, but it’s definitely somewhere I want to work out more since it was so lovely last weekend.

The canal stretches 184.5 miles from DC to Cumberland, Md. It’s pretty dry right now but at other times of the year, the water overflows the banks and spills onto the towpath.

The canal was built between 1828 and 1850. Many of the historic buildings are still standing and now operate as visitor centers and information booths. It’s a pretty place to walk, run or bike any time of the year.

Look at that sky! This was my weekly photo for Around the Corner:

I’d love to live in a little whitewashed stone house with turquoise shutters. It may be small, but it’s adorable!

After completing 5 miles this morning, I was more than ready for a big bowl of breakfast ice cream. :mrgreen: Perfect way to cool down!

I’m picking up Allie and Simone at the Metro shortly and we’re heading up to Westminster, Md., for a day of homemade ice cream, country food and cute small-town shops. It’s the perfect day for a drive in the country.

Do you prefer to exercise in the morning or evening? I work out at night during the week but on the weekends, I love to do something active first thing in the morning so the rest of the day is free.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2010 7:02 pm

    I hope you have a fun time in Maryland 🙂
    I prefer to work out in the morning in theory, but sometimes during the week I can get a better workout in the afternoon/night because I am awake and have a bit more time without rushing off to work!

Trackbacks

  1. Early bird special «
  2. Top 12 Photos of 2010 « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

