Skip to content

Can’t be contained

September 3, 2010

Just wanted to mention the earthquake near Christchurch, NZ. You might remember that Christchurch was my favorite place in all of Australia and New Zealand, so please keep the people in your thoughts this weekend.

It’s Friday! The Friday before a long weekend–even better! Are you doing anything fun for Labor Day? And for all the non-Americans, you can still share your weekend plans. 😉

Allie, Simone and I are road-tripping up to Westminster, in northern Maryland, to see Allie’s family, breathe in the fresh country air and eat more Southern food. No, not a a Cracker Barrel.

And yes, somehow northern Maryland qualifies as the south and yet where I live doesn’t. Don’t ask me to explain. 😉

I got out of work a little early today and had an awesome workout. It’s great to get nice and sweaty, then have time to shower before diving into dinner. You just feel more rejuvenated.

As I was making salad tonight, I realized there’s a cupboard full of salad plates that have never been used for salad. Cookies, bread, a handful of nuts? Sure. But for salad, I bring out the big guns.

Why not use a mixing bowl for salad? My salads–and this is a side salad, not even the entree–can’t be contained!

Romaine (on its last legs, sadly), cherry tomatoes, cucumber, bell peppers, fresh dill and a massive scoop of Tribe hummus. Gotta get in my greens!

Now, on to the main dish. I embraced my Mexican roots tonight, although my dish brought back memories of eating my way through Costa Rica, instead. :mrgreen:

I got this at a tiny, family-run shop in La Fortuna. We could see the craftsmen sculpting and painting new pieces and placing them in the fire. I loved this one!

So perfect for chips and salsa.

Continuing with the Mexican theme, I made up a burrito filled with corn & black bean salsa.

Nice and spicy, just the way I like it! Roll it up…

I spy, with my little eye, something delicious.

Very happy tummy. And now, because I’m 95 years (and stuffed myself with pizza and wine last night), I’m happily lounging on the couch with ‘Modern Family’ ready-to-stream. I want to get caught up before the new season starts!

Have a great night–see you in the morning before heading north… to the south. 😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 4, 2010 3:18 am

    What a lovely, huge side salad!

Leave a Reply

