Skip to content

September Challenge

September 1, 2010

I’ve been stuck in a food rut since starting work nearly three (!) months ago.

Breakfast is usually a big cereal bowl or oats, no matter how messy.

I pack lunch almost every day, with some variation on salad and a wrap with pretzels or tortilla chips. It’s easiest to pack the same thing every day and not have to think about it.

And then for dinner, I tend to make a big pot of chili or a curry and eat leftovers every night. So boring, right?

Well, I need to change that! Or, at least, be more creative with those leftovers.

My September challenge is to break out of the dinner rut and have a different dinner every night for the month. It might just be jazzed-up leftovers (my challenge, I make the rules! 😉 ) but it’s at least not going to be the same grain-veggie-protein bowl every. single. night.

Tonight’s dinner was easy to throw together and delicious to eat.

Tofu, green bell peppers and spinach over brown rice. The star was this awesome Trader Joe’s green curry simmer sauce.

lunch.com

I want to experiment more with making Thai curry from scratch, since I’m pretty happy with my Indian curries already, but right now I rely on the jar.

My biggest ‘rule’ for dinner is that it needs to be fast to assemble. I don’t want to spend an hour or more after work putting dinner together.

So it could be revamped leftovers (chili works on its own, over rice, over salad and so on), a lazy sandwich or, once in awhile, a restaurant, but it’s going to be different.

Just call it breaking out of the September slump. 😉

Are you setting any goals for the new month?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 6:52 am

    I love my monthly challenges…sometimes it’s just what I need to get out of a rut!

    • September 3, 2010 6:53 pm

      I’ve never done one before but it seems like a good idea — all the other kids are doing it! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Pizza, wine and bags of pastries «
  2. Early bird special «
  3. Cool/uncool « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

