Skip to content

Unplugged

August 31, 2010

I don’t have cable TV and I don’t miss it.

geekinspired.com

Okay, sometimes I do miss laying on the couch and watching hours of Food Network and Travel Channel on a particularly lazy Saturday. πŸ˜‰

At first, Brittany and I decided to go cable-free to save a little money. Last year, the average American paid more than $700 a year for cable. That’s a lot of burrito bols, Le Creuset and farmer’s market goodies!

Honestly, it wasn’t a hard switch. We still get the basic TV stations (Fox, NBC, CBS, ABC and the all-important PBS) just from plugging the TV into the wall. We also, randomly, get two home shopping networks. Go figure! πŸ˜‰

Remember, I lived in Korea with no TV for a year. If I wanted to watch The Office or Mad Men (and I did!) it was all online.

Plenty of people are cutting Comcast and going cable-free. Because… Comcast sucks. Seriously. In this day and age of free TV online, both from legal and less-than-legal sources, it seems like a scam (to me) to shell out money every month.

When I go to my mom’s house, it’s fun to channel surf and stop at every crappy Lifetime movie, Housewives reunion and VH1 reunion special that comes along.

And sure, I can’t watch Mad Men the moment it airs but if I really want to see it on Sunday, it will be online an hour or so after airing on AMC. Isn’t that why people have DVR? So they aren’t ‘chained’ to the TV? Same concept!

Overall, I’m definitely watching less TV. And that is a good thing!

I can’t imagine going back to paying for cable. Get a hookup from the computer to your TV screen and you’re good to go — and you can kiss Comcast goodbye.

Unless Comcast is your only local Internet provider, in which case, you still have to deal with them. Sad face for us. 😦

Do you have cable TV? Would you ever consider getting rid of it?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 6:39 am

    we don’t have TV at all! Ours only works for movies but we get zero channels and don’t miss it at all! We can find plenty of things to watch online and it definitely saves time that I would waste zoning out in front of it!

    • August 31, 2010 7:50 am

      … although I do find plenty of time to zone out in front of my computer instead. πŸ˜‰

  2. Marie permalink
    August 31, 2010 6:42 am

    Ah great post, Chris and I have been talking about this a lot lately. We’re both Star Trek nerds and love being able to flip on Syfy to watch that or Eureka, but Comcast just made us increase our cable/internet package from 70/mo to 90/mo. Uh, WHAT? He also just put me on his insurance plan and it’s pricey… time to cut the cable off, right? Plus, we have Netfix which we already use to watch TV shows. Do y’all have that? Maybe what you pointed out in your post will help me convince Chris for sure… πŸ™‚

    • August 31, 2010 7:51 am

      The benefit as I see it: if I wanted to watch a lot of one show (like Star Trek, in your case), I can go online and watch an entire marathon of episodes for free, without having to wait for the specific time it airs on TV and suffer through commercials. πŸ™‚

      Don’t have Netflix but will probably subscribe at some point.

      • Marie permalink
        August 31, 2010 6:30 pm

        Great point! I always forget I can watch shows online. I need to look up Modern Family… πŸ™‚

  3. ComcastMark permalink
    August 31, 2010 11:56 am

    Sorry we lost you as one of our customers. if you change your mind in the future, I’m here to help.

    Mark Casem
    Comcast Corp.
    National Customer Operations
    We_can_help@cable.comcast.com

    • August 31, 2010 1:55 pm

      We’ll change our minds when it’s not exorbitantly expensive. It’s bad enough we’re being gouged for Internet because we live in an apartment — not cable, too.

  4. August 31, 2010 12:16 pm

    I don’t have cable. or satellite. or regular TV for that matter since I don’t have a converter box.

  5. August 31, 2010 12:42 pm

    Dear ComcastMark,

    If you can compete with Hulu, Netflix, and free DVDs from the library, let me know. I’m only willing to pay $15/month for basic cable. Because thats all your spotty service is worth.

    All the best,

    Brittany & Erin’s apartment

  6. August 31, 2010 1:54 pm

    I’ve thought about giving up cable time and time again, but it’s still the only way I can watch sports and I don’t think I can give that up. Wish there was some way I could get around it. Otherwise, I’d kick cable to the curb.

  7. August 31, 2010 3:28 pm

    My boyfriend will NEVER get rid of the TV. But I don’t watch a lot. I’d be happy without a tv. πŸ™‚

    • August 31, 2010 7:04 pm

      It’s definitely easier when it’s just one person making the decision! πŸ˜‰

  8. August 31, 2010 11:09 pm

    We have cable TV, and while we rarely watch TV at all, my husband would die if we didn’t at least have the option. He was HDTV and I am holding him back on that one…lets see if I am successful!

    • September 1, 2010 5:59 am

      Yes, like I said above, it’s definitely easier when you’re the only person making a decision — or when the other person easily agrees. πŸ˜‰

  9. September 1, 2010 3:57 am

    I lived without TV in Germany too, I watched Friends etc online or DVD’s. Now we have a cable TV at home, but with limited channels which we can change once a month.. to be honest, I usually don’t watch much TV anyway πŸ™‚

    • September 1, 2010 5:59 am

      Can you choose which channels you get? That would be the perfect option but here, you can’t pick, you just get what they give you.

  10. September 1, 2010 5:38 pm

    I have cable but honestly probably watch about 2 hours of tv a week, if that. I could get rid of it, but I like these stupid trashy MTV shows.

    • September 1, 2010 6:47 pm

      They stream online! (haha I’m trying to convert the world πŸ˜‰ )

  11. September 1, 2010 10:53 pm

    I would love to get rid of our cable. Somehow, my husband got us a deal with Comcast, but I do think they are too expensive. I liked w/o tv in Rome and in my last year of college, and don’t mind it at all. There aren’t any shows I follow. I do like to watch movies though!

Leave a Reply

