Skip to content

Because I don’t have enough blogs

August 30, 2010

During the year I lived in Korea, Lauren and I wanted a way to keep in touch beyond email and Skype. The solution: 3 p.m. on Sunday, a weekly photo blog that documented exactly where we were at–yep, you guessed it–3 p.m. on Sunday.

It was fun seeing the similarities and differences between our photos. Some weeks, they were worlds apart.

At other times, the unplanned similarities were too obvious to ignore.

I’ll leave you to guess which is Seoul and which is Silver Spring. 😉

Now, Lauren has moved to New York City and I’m permanently back in the DC-area. What better time to start up a new photo blog?

Beginning today, we’ll be blogging weekly at Around the Corner. Each week, we choose a different theme and take a picture that’s a variation on that theme.

We’re both creative people so this is a fun way to stay in-touch, challenge ourselves and hopefully keep those much-needed creative juices flowing. Be sure to check it out!

How do you stay in touch with friends across long distances?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 6:57 am

    what a fun idea!

    • August 30, 2010 8:28 pm

      It’s definitely a good way to keep in touch.

  2. August 30, 2010 8:36 am

    YAY! so excited to restart this project! Will chat with you over email about it!

  3. August 30, 2010 1:08 pm

    What a fun idea!

    I’m very thankful to Facebook for making keeping in touch with people around the world so easy 🙂

  4. August 30, 2010 6:49 pm

    Haha I love all the pictures and the new blog idea. I stay in touch with my friends from far away but not in nearly as creative ways as you. I use e-mail, facebook, skype and the phone 🙂

  5. August 30, 2010 8:04 pm

    I love this idea! I’m a big old school, ink to 3 pages of paper, letter writer. My good friend and I would send weekly letters to each other during college. It was so nice to get actual mail!

    • August 30, 2010 8:27 pm

      Aw, I love that you write ‘real’ letters. There’s definitely something awesome about getting mail!

  6. August 30, 2010 9:39 pm

    I absolutely love the idea of blogging with a long-distance friend. Such a clever idea!

Trackbacks

  1. Farm finds & hanging with horses «

Leave a Reply

