Skip to content

Asia overload

August 28, 2010

The sun is shining, the birds are chirping (seriously!), only one fire engine is blaring in the distance… it’s a beautiful morning in Bethesda and I’m headed out to a walk along the C&O Canal to enjoy the sunshine and lovely temps.

Every morning this week, I got up for work and was insanely jealous of anyone who had the day free to enjoy this weather. It’s been cool enough to drive in with the windows down, sans A/C, and the perfect temperature to take a short walk during lunch and not get back to my desk covered in sweat.

It’s a nice change from the past few weekends, which have been either ridiculously humid or sadly rainy (and humid!).

Of course, there’s nothing like rain and humidity to send me scurrying into a museum. But August = tourist season here in DC, so what’s a museum-loving local to do?

You’ve got to get off the beaten path. Now, not the Castle. That’s always crammed with people trying to figure out what it is, exactly. But to the left and right, on the non-Mall side, are smaller museums that most tourists seem to miss.

And that, in my book, is a good thing. 😉

To be honest, the Freer and Sackler galleries aren’t exactly my favorite. I experienced a bit of Asia overload while living in Korea. But when you want to beat the crowds, they are a pretty sure bet. A current exhibit of bronzes from Cambodia is worth visiting and… there’s always the gift shop. 😉

I picked up a pretty spring-y tablecloth from Laos. If you’re looking for a unique, interesting gift, you really can’t beat checking out some of the Smithsonian gift shops. I’m not talking about Smithsonian tee-shirts and Washington, DC mugs, but a great assortment of jewelry, textiles, books and artwork from around the world.

Personally, the gardens of the Freer and Sackler is my favorite part.

Even after a rainstorm, it’s still beautiful.

And peaceful.

And that’s the most important thing.

What are your plans for this GORGEOUS Saturday? Back later with an ode to my favorite store in the world… Trader Joe’s! :mrgreen:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2010 9:07 am

    I’m off to an all day rooftop yoga fundraiser! It’s going to be a perfect day for it 😀

  2. August 28, 2010 2:23 pm

    I will be napping all day 😉 Hehee I am lazy and proud!

  3. August 29, 2010 9:16 am

    Cute blog! Seen your comment on Ameena’s. My saturday consisted of coffee, Farmer’s Markets, sitting, reading and Ice Cream…;) Alot alot of laziness…and today may be much the same 🙂

Leave a Reply

