Skip to content

Old friends and stuffed peppers

August 27, 2010

Does anyone else remember that Girl Scouts song, ‘Make new friends and keep the old, one is silver and the other gold?’

Well, Brittany, Kristen, Tim and I have been friends for a long time. Middle school, elementary school, preschool, respectively.

Fun with self-timer! 😉

Tim lives in Michigan now but when he came to visit, Brittany and I hosted a small dinner party. There were two main themes: food and Scrabble.

Oh yes, Scrabble. Tim and I play a nearly-daily game online. Thanks, Wordscraper. :mrgreen:

For dinner, I made easy stuffed bell peppers with quinoa. Cook the quinoa separately. In a pan, toss together an onion and olive oil until the often is soft. Add spices of choice (I went with cinnamon and a little cumin). Throw in other veggies you want (carrots, tomato) until they are fairly soft.

Combine with quinoa, add raisins and stuff the peppers ’til they’re about to burst.

Cover the pan with aluminum foil and bake for 30 minutes.

Easy peasy and oh-so good!

I like the sweet flavor cinnamon gives a savory dish. Served along with some homemade garlic bread, it was a veggie-rific dinner that even the meat eaters enjoyed. 🙂

And then, it was game on!

They need to work on their game faces. 😉

For dessert… red velvet cake!

This thing was huge and you’d better believe I had a whopping piece… or two. 😉 Yum!

I love having people over for dinner and sharing new and old recipes — there’s always the fun of discovering new recipes and ingredients, too!

What did you cook last time people came over?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2010 4:42 am

    I wish we had big enough apartment to have people come over for dinner. I would love to have dinner parties!

    • August 28, 2010 7:41 am

      We only had two people over haha — I want to have a big house party when I have a bigger space.

  2. August 28, 2010 7:17 am

    I always get so intimidated to cook for my friends. The last time we had people over, we grilled. Which meant that Jason grilled!

    • August 28, 2010 7:42 am

      Yes, I get nervous, too. Thankfully I knew my oldest friends wouldn’t mind if it wasn’t perfect. 🙂

  3. August 28, 2010 9:54 am

    omg the first pic is too cute for words. ya’ll need to photoshop my face in there HAHA

Leave a Reply

