Skip to content

Make these muffins stat!

August 26, 2010

I thought my whole-wheat banana-berry oat muffins were pretty good (what a name, eh?!) but I think I may have found a recipe that surpasses them.

We’ve had a series of grey, ‘chilly’ (okay, it was in the 70s), rainy days here and that definitely puts me in the mood to bake. I was visiting my mom’s house and combed through various cookbooks before finding some delicious recipes in Chili, Corn & Croissants: Delicious Recipes From New Mexico Inns.

We’ve had this cookbook from years and I’m not even sure if we actually got it in New Mexico or not, but either way there are fantastic recipes (including several for cornbread that I need to try out).

Anyway, back to muffins.

I decided to take advantage of all the in-season zucchini and make zucchini raisin muffins.

Start with two cups of grated zucchini. For me, this was two medium-sized zucchini.

In one large bowl, combine dry ingredients (50-50 all-purpose/whole-wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda, dash of salt, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg).

In a medium bowl, combine the wet ingredients. You know the drill. Two eggs (could easily use a vegan substitute), vanilla extract, vegetable oil (I used applesauce).

Combine wet and dry. Add zucchini and raisins.

I love raisins. :mrgreen:

The recipe said it would make 12 muffins. Maybe this is for Costco muffins or something, but I ended up with 20.

Bake. Let cool–if you can stand to wait, that is. I grabbed one right out of the oven and split it with my mom. 😉

The house will smell awesome as these cook. Just stand by the oven and inhale. It’s good for the soul.

Some people are turned off by the idea of zucchini muffins or other baked goods with greens mixed in, but this is a great way to add nutritional value to baked goods and you don’t get the zucchini taste at all. The muffins are sweet and cinnamon-y so don’t imagine biting into a baked zucchini. 😉

These freeze great, too. I like to throw a bunch into Ziploc and keep them in the freezer. They keep longer and it’s easy to zap one in the microwave for a quick breakfast. Yum.

Have you baked anything good lately? Do share! :mrgreen:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 8:27 pm

    I JUST made zucchini bread! haha

  2. August 27, 2010 7:26 am

    Those look pretty delicious.

Leave a Reply

