Skip to content

How you got here

August 18, 2010

Like a lot of bloggers, I love seeing how people discovered my blog. It’s especially fun seeing the crazy Google keywords that brought people here–usually phrases that have nothing to do with the content here. 😉

Not surprisingly, the number one keyword is ‘Travel Eat Repeat.’ Okay, that makes sense.

Number two? ‘Hairy men.’

Oh yes. That’s right. ‘Hairy Men.’ That leads searchers to my Valentine’s Day post where I joked about having a thing for extremely hairy guys. Um guys, it was a joke. 😉

‘Hairy chested men’ actually pops up in third place!

Some of the keywords are understandable: ‘Quaker oats,’ ‘travel without passport’ and ‘ice cream for breakfast.’

Others make sense if you know me or follow the blog regularly: ‘sheep shaggers,’ ‘Aylesbury Tea Room,’ ‘Costco kimchi‘ and ‘Australia will kill you.’

But my favorites are the randoms: ‘Hannah Montana,’ ‘Elijah Wood‘ and ‘Bobby Bloch family Maryland.’

The best, though, are the repeated hits from someone looking up ‘Carl Suppa.’ Who is he?

I visited an antique shop back in January and noted finding a Valentine’s Day card from 1960 signed by a boy named ‘Carl Suppa.’ Carl, are you Googling yourself? Cool!

Do you like checking out your blog stats? Gotten any crazy hits lately?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 9:14 pm

    Hello, Erin! I’m pretty sure this is my first time commenting, even though I’ve been reading your blogs for months. Sorry for being a phantom reader. Anyway, I haven’t had any really wild searches yet on my blog, http://www.travelintheglobe.wordpress.com, but at least once a day someone comes to my blog by searching for dirndls in Salzburg. Yes, I do have a post about my epic search for a dirndl there, but I didn’t think that so many people would be searching for a dirndl there as well.

    • August 19, 2010 6:18 am

      Hi! 😀 Who knew that dirndls were such a popular souvenir?! My hunt in Salzburg consisted of one thing: strudel, strudel and more strudel. Oh, and some sacher torte. 😉

  2. August 18, 2010 9:37 pm

    That would be amazing if the Carl Suppa from the card was the same Carl Suppa googling himself don’t you think? Like a modern day message in a bottle.

    • August 19, 2010 6:18 am

      Yes! I was so confused why I was getting hits for Carl Suppa, then did a search in my blog and figured it out.

  3. August 19, 2010 9:55 am

    Hairy men?? haha one of my favorites from my blog was “Are farmer’s tans sexy?”

    …I’d have to say no 🙂

  4. August 19, 2010 11:02 am

    I’m shocked by how many people land on my blog from a roasted vegetables recipe I posted ages ago. It seems to bring people to my blog every week, which makes me happy.

    • August 19, 2010 3:12 pm

      Wow, guess that means people like the recipe. I’ll have to check it out! 😀

  5. August 19, 2010 11:50 am

    I’m a bit lazu with checking my statics, but they sure are fun 😀

    • August 19, 2010 3:13 pm

      It gets to be addictive so I’d stay away. 😉

  6. August 19, 2010 12:05 pm

    My blog stats crack me up! The google searches are always funny and random. A few were really gross and I wondered “Why did THAT word send people to my blog?!” Weird!

    • August 19, 2010 3:13 pm

      I know! It’s amazing what can show up in there!

Trackbacks

  1. 48 hours in NYC «

Leave a Reply

