Skip to content

Foodie Books

August 3, 2010
tags: , ,

What’s your favorite foodie book?

I love reading books about food, whether it’s cooking memoirs, travelogues, cookbooks or nutritional manifestos.

Which ones do you like?

My roommate just finished Eating Animals so that’s next on my list. People love to talk about how An Omnivore’s Dilemma was life-changing but I much preferred Animal, Vegetable, Miracle as a compelling argument for conscious, local, ethical eating.

As for cookbooks, you can’t go wrong with Eat, Drink & Be Vegan and Moosewood Restaurant Simple Suppers for relatively easy, fresh fare. There are a stack of other cookbooks on my shelves but those are the two I turn to most often.

My favorite kind of food book, however, is definitely the food-travel memoir. Whether a classic like Julia Child’s My Life In France, a contemporary cooking/love story like Almost French or a book like Eat, Pray, Love that makes me want to grab my passport and head for the airport, I love them all.

We’re headed to our local National Night Out celebration shortly for free food and possibly meeting some neighbors for the first time.

You would think that a relatively young, suburban apartment building would be friendly but instead, people avert their eyes in the hallway and rarely return a ‘hello.’

Didn’t their mothers teach simple manners?

What have you read lately? Any recommendations for great food books?

Caitlin‘s Operation Beautiful book came out today — have you checked it out yet? :mrgreen:

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 6:34 pm

    Congrats to Caitlin! I’m headed over to Amazon to check out her book right after I finish this comment.

    No food book recommendations from me (still the pickiest eater in the world!), but in terms of other ones, I just finished Katherine Center’s “Get Lucky” and really enjoyed it. I’m all about books with inspiring messages these days 🙂

    • August 3, 2010 8:37 pm

      Thanks for the recommendation! I’m always looking for new reads. 😀

  2. August 3, 2010 8:40 pm

    Just requested the easy cookbooks you recommended 🙂

    The only great food book I’ve read was “In Defense of Food”, but even that I had trouble finishing cuz I have trouble finding time for books when I’m not curious what is going to happen at the end haha. Terrible.

    I hope you meet some nice neighbors!

  3. louisianagrown permalink
    August 4, 2010 6:26 am

    French Milk by Lucy Knisley is a very good graphic novel about a girl and her mother living in France. It isn’t particularly about food, but how could you leave it out when you’re in France? Check it out!

  4. August 4, 2010 7:35 am

    The Bread Baker’s Apprentice is my current bible. I love baking bread!

    • August 4, 2010 7:14 pm

      I need to teach myself to love baking bread.

  5. August 4, 2010 10:16 am

    Cooking for Mr.Latte by Amanda Hesser is one of my favorite novels that it’s a story, but surrounded by food. Another good one is Lunch in Paris!

    • August 4, 2010 7:14 pm

      I keep hearing Cooking for Mr. Latte is great!

  6. August 4, 2010 2:37 pm

    My very favorite food-related book is “Like Water for Chocolate” by Laura Esquivel. A close second is Julia Child’s “My Life in France.” I also enjoyed Judith Jones’ “The Tenth Muse: My Life in Food.” Oh! I almost forgot Molly Wizenberg’s “A Homemade Life.” That one made me smile a lot … Molly is pretty wonderful.

    • August 4, 2010 7:15 pm

      Loved Judith Jones’ book. So fascinating. Thanks for the other reccs.

Leave a Reply

