Skip to content

Mid-Week Fiesta

July 2, 2010

Three-day weekend! :mrgreen: Who’s excited?!

I hope all my Canadian readers had a great Canada Day yesterday. I actually know nothing about how it’s celebrated since none of my Canadian friends are actually living in Canada right now–anyone care to fill me in?

The other night when I skipped out on blogging, it was because Erin invited me over for a last-minute Mexican fiesta. She apparently sent the invite a little while ago but spelled my name wrong–not my first name, though, since we have the same name! 😉

Simone was talking up margaritas all afternoon so as soon as we walked in the door, I knew what I wanted.

So fresh and fruity after a long drive home — I thought the commute would be lighter the week before a holiday but it was crazy every day but today.

Erin has a gorgeous condo and — happily for a non-humid summer night — a big patio. We were pretty psyched to eat outdoors.

I told Simone and Zoe to pretend they liked each other–and this is what they came up with. 😉

I’m never one to turn down a dinner party, Mexican food or hanging out with friends. This was the perfect combo!

We had tons of food. I honestly waddled out of there. Fajitas, chips and guac — yum!

I definitely polished off one fajita and went back for another two scoops of filling. And, of course, had room for dessert.

Erin made this delicious cookie ice cream cake, basically two giant cookies with a tub of ice cream between them.

Oh my gosh. The ice cream was dripping everywhere but that didn’t change the taste at all. You know my rule: If it tastes good, eat it! (Me and Andrew Zimmern, apparently…)

Two pieces and I was pretty much ready for a muumuu. Remember, my health check indicated low glucose so I was just following medical instructions and amping up the sugar intake. 😉

I love an unexpected mid-week hangout! Most nights after work, I drag out of the car after an eternal commute, go for a walk or run, eat dinner while watching ‘Jeopardy,’ and spend the rest of the evening lounging on the couch. It was fun to be social and see friends that are normally only around on the weekends.

Are you social during the week or do you save it for the weekends?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 10:14 pm

    I tend to save it for the weekends when I’m more relaxed.

    Margaritas, yum!

  2. July 3, 2010 9:13 am

    I prefer to save it for the weekends but a few years ago, I would go out like every night.

  3. Jeanette permalink
    July 3, 2010 9:45 am

    That cookie cake looks amazing!! Oh and although I’m out of country I will inform you on that most magical time of year, Canada day. In my small town on Lake Huron we have a parade with a pipe band that always seems to play the same song as well as the usual fire trucks and clowns blah blah blah. After many BBQs and a few brews in the afternoon, everyone heads down to the lake front for fireworks. This weekend is usually warm so it also includes baseball tournaments, beach days, and time out at the cottage with friends and fam.
    Yes, Canada day holds something for everyone.
    tootles!

    • July 4, 2010 8:19 am

      Always the best source of Canadian knowledge! Is your flag flying in Scotland yet or still packed away?

  4. July 3, 2010 2:11 pm

    I don’t know why but I ALWAYS want a margarita for 4th of July haha. It just seems so summery and awesome 🙂 yours looked great!!

  5. Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife permalink
    July 3, 2010 8:29 pm

    OK this is weirdly the second time I’ve heard the word waddled in 5 minutes! haha.

    Just found your blog and I love it.

    • July 4, 2010 8:19 am

      Thanks! 😀 Yes, ‘waddled’ always makes me think of fat ducks hahaha.

  6. July 4, 2010 12:08 am

    Canada Day is much like July 4th- Fireworks, BBQs and family time 🙂

  7. July 4, 2010 7:35 am

    I try to be social during the week too, otherwise my weekends are totally packed 🙂

    • July 4, 2010 8:20 am

      Great point. Weekends seem to be way too booked!

  8. July 6, 2010 11:42 am

    Canada day is a lot like Independence Day: fireworks, barbecue, and parades.
    On the Detroit River between Detroit and Windsor we have the International Freedom Fest to celebrate both Independence Day and Canada Day.

    Supposedly it’s the world’s largest fireworks display… I’m a bit spoiled so any time I see fireworks that aren’t Freedom Fest Fireworks, I’m thoroughly unimpressed.

Leave a Reply

