Skip to content

Big Breakfast Bowl

June 19, 2010

I don’t understand how some people pour a bowl of cereal, top it with a splash of milk and call it breakfast.

My roommate is constantly amazed at how many dishes are left in the drying rack after I eat breakfast but it is the most important meal of the day, after all! 😉

You want the day to start with something stabilizing, something that will ward off the 10:00 munchies and something that gives you energy for the rest of the day — or at least until you can stuff your face again at lunch.

Check out the army of ingredients that go into my daily breakfast bowl:

Okay, the almond milk actually is for the coffee but everything else goes straight into the bowl. Just having a cup of cereal with some milk would leave me starving within an hour, guaranteed.

The key, too, is to get a little bit of every ingredient in each bite. This requires some serious mixing. I want each bite of cereal to have a little cereal, some yogurt, a piece of strawberry, a sprinkle of flax and a healthy dose of almond butter. Yum! :mrgreen:

The added nut butter is the part that weirds some people out but I’m telling you: don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it! You get that extra spoonful of protein and fiber that is so important when you’re facing a busy morning.

I’ll be happy to get back to my big oatmeal bowl when it gets cold again but for now, cereal (with all the fixin’s) is definitely hitting the spot!

What kind of cereal do you like? I used to love Kashi Go Lean but it has a lot of sugar. These Joe’s O’s (aka Trader Joe’s Cheerios) have only 1g of sugar per cup and great nutritional stats!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 2:30 pm

    My current cereals is Kellogg’s All Bran which has a lot of sugar too. I only eat in occassionally – just the way you described it: with a splash of milk and that’s it, and you know what.. it’s big breakfast for me 😀 (not a breakfast person at all!)

  2. June 20, 2010 12:20 am

    Personally, I still love Kashi Go Lean. =P

    And the nut butter is what completes a breakfast bowl, nothing crazy about that!

    • June 20, 2010 12:26 am

      I just looked at my box, it only has six grams of sugar. Not great, but certainly not as bad as some!

  3. June 20, 2010 1:43 am

    oh I love your breakfast bowl and I agree – the key IS getting a bit of everything in every bite!

  4. June 20, 2010 10:21 am

    Breakfast is the best meal of the day, hands down. I love mixing different cereals and things together, and coming up with toppings. I’ve been eating a lot of organic shredded wheat lately, which is lightly sweetened, and I top it with a slice banana, rice milk, and a blob of nut butter. I also love muesli for breakfast.

Trackbacks

  1. September Challenge «

Leave a Reply

