Skip to content

Pizza, pizza

June 9, 2010

We all know that I love making my own pizza. Pizza Hut and Papa John’s hold absolutely no appeal for me.

No, when the pizza craving hits and I don’t want to make my own, there’s only one place to go: Ledo’s, another good local chain restaurant.

When Oprah sent BFF Gayle out to search for America’s best pizza, Gayle came back with Ledo Pizza. Of course, Gayle did attend the University of Maryland (go Terps!) which is just a couple of miles from the original Ledo’s location, so she might have been slightly biased. πŸ˜‰

Even though it’s one of the most popular chains in the DC area, Ledo’s doesn’t seem to have been able to hire a copy editor to proofread its signs.

But who cares if they can spell? How’s the pizza?

De. Li. Cious. :mrgreen:

Ledo Pizza is great because it’s thin crust with just a thin layer of sweet tomato sauce. The cheese is sprinkled lightly, too, so there’s more room for toppings.

Being based in Maryland, every table has its requisite can of Old Bay. πŸ˜‰

Because yes, there is a crab pizza.

I started with a salad. Check out the huge size of this starter salad!

Restaurants, why do you try to ruin a perfectly good salad by putting cheese on top? Why does a salad need cheese?

Ledo’s is famous for its square pizza.

Not quite as thick with the veggies as I personally make it, but still a veg in every bite!

The only question left: why are there never leftovers when I go to Ledo’s?

Because one certain pizza monster (that would be me) has no self-control around good pizza. 😳 It’s too delicious to leave a scrap behind!

What’s your favorite pizza chain?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 9:20 pm

    I hardly ever have pizza but good pizza is truly wonderful. I had some a few weeks ago while home in MI and it was heavenly. There is a local chain in MI called Cottage Inn which is great. Surprisingly, I haven’t found a great stand-by pizza place in NYC…

  2. June 9, 2010 10:00 pm

    I dont have a favorite chain per-say most of my favorite places are small little joints that no one really knows about. I love thin crust (NY style) with GREAT toppings. My favorites are fresh tomato, peppers, mushrooms and onions with gooey cheese YUM.

  3. June 9, 2010 10:37 pm

    Ah I had never been to Ledo’s before I moved to Lynchburg– I’m so glad I discovered it! I agree– Pizza Hut, Papa John’s, etc., they don’t have anything on Ledo’s πŸ™‚ (although I agree that home-made is best ;). Now I must have pizza for dinner tomorrow!

  4. June 9, 2010 11:21 pm

    For me to consider it a pizza it has to have thick, chewy crust. Otherwise, it is a cracker with toppings!

    I prefer Amy’s spinach pizzas. SO good!

  5. June 10, 2010 5:35 am

    No chains for me! I love getting pizza where my parents live in Connecticut, because there are so many places that make Sicilian-style pizza, which has a thin crust and is delicious.

  6. June 10, 2010 7:07 am

    I went to Ledo’s on Monday! It is SO good I can’t even begin to explain lol. I am definitely a thin crust girl, and even though Ledo’s has a thin crust it is still so unique!

  7. June 10, 2010 8:44 am

    I loooove Ledos! It’s so delicious!

  8. June 10, 2010 11:54 am

    I’m not much of a chain pizza gal myself. I either want a giant slice of thin nyc style pizza, or something a little more pizza “gourmet”, like I love California Pizza Kitchen’s roasted veggie with goat cheese pizza!

  9. June 10, 2010 12:18 pm

    Ledo’s reminds me of my childhood. My grandma used to live off Adelphi Road and we’d always go to family dinners at Ledo’s.

    • June 10, 2010 6:44 pm

      It’s hilarious how many places we have in common. πŸ˜‰ We used to go to the Adelphia location in college.

  10. June 10, 2010 1:01 pm

    I must say that cheese in salad is a must for me πŸ˜€

  11. June 10, 2010 1:51 pm

    I live in Windsor Ontario. We have Canada’s best pizza, hands down.
    While I do like a good wood-oven pizza from time to time, Windsor pizza with it’s crisp yet chewy dough, savoury sauce, and shredded pepperoni is AHmazing.

  12. June 10, 2010 3:03 pm

    It’s so funny you mention this! Back in high school, my friends & I watched that Oprah episode and decided to drive down to UMD (30 min.) to hit up Ledos. I remember it was good πŸ˜€

    • June 10, 2010 6:44 pm

      Oprah knows what the best is! She got her start in Baltimore so she must be a Ledo’s fan too (if they have it up there…).

  13. June 12, 2010 10:36 am

    Not sure if this a chain, but I love pizza paradiso! Last night I had a huge craving and they had this wonderful “spring time” pizza with artichokes, peas, asparagus, a bunch of other wonderful veggies and then topped with cilantro and basil. It was definitely more veggies than cheese, and a whole lot of toasty bread. Delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. HyvÀÀ Uuttavuotta! « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

