Skip to content

Blogger brunch at Scion

June 6, 2010

I love making new friends! :mrgreen:

It can be kind of hard to meet people after graduating from college. Suddenly you don’t have the shared experiences of dorm life, classes and Terp love. But that’s what the Internet is good for, right?

Meghann came to DC and organized a fantastic blogger brunch at Dupont Circle’s Scion.

It would be nice to sit outside sometime when it’s not disgustingly humid.

The restaurant was really accommodating of our group of 15, seating us in a private room and not seeming annoyed by the endless number of “build your own omelets” we ordered. Hey, it’s on the menu! πŸ˜‰

While you’re waiting for brunch, there’s a fruit buffet with tons of fresh choices. Perfect way to cool down.

For brunch, I ordered an omelet with black beans, spinach, red peppers and asparagus.

We were all impressed that the veggies were spread throughout the omelet, not just buried in the middle like usual. It was kind of like eating an egg burrito, minus the tortilla.

It was so much fun to chat with all of the other girls, a great mix of bloggers and blog readers. It can be a little surreal when the blog world meets the real world but as soon as we met, it felt completely natural. Gotta love making new friends and connecting “for real” with people I only know from blogs and comments. :mrgreen:

I loved meeting people whose blogs I read: Jacquie, Sarah, Sana, Ashley… who am I forgetting? And all of the readers, of course!

I was so jealous of Meghann’s camera. Check out the difference between my shot (using a point-and-shoot) and her DSLR:

Next year, a DSLR is definitely my birthday present to myself. πŸ˜‰

I’m so glad I went to brunch. I was a little nervous it would be awkward meeting people I only knew through blogs but it was so comfortable and we all had a lot in common.

Can’t wait until next time! Berry picking, right?!Β  :mrgreen:

Have you ever met up with other bloggers or people you met online?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 6:01 pm

    The BEST b-day presents are the things that I get for myself πŸ™‚
    Garmin this year, I still have 10 months to think for next year :)!

    • June 6, 2010 8:28 pm

      Maybe you can get yourself an early present (or two) in Europe. πŸ˜‰

  2. June 6, 2010 7:26 pm

    Definitely berry picking!!! When it gets to be more into the season, I’ll email everyone and we’ll road trip up to the farm πŸ™‚

    2 Amy’s pizza soon?

    • June 6, 2010 8:28 pm

      Yes! I have a car so it’s no problem! πŸ˜€

  3. June 6, 2010 7:37 pm

    So jealous of all the awesome bloggers you got to meet! Looks like a ton of fun!

  4. June 6, 2010 8:00 pm

    Mmmm, that omelet looks AMAZING πŸ™‚ I love breakfast/brunch!!!

    So jealous of your meet-up πŸ™‚ Looks like a fun group!

  5. June 6, 2010 9:48 pm

    It looked like a fun meet-up! I’ve heard they’re a lot like blind dates lol

    And I’m pretty jealous of the DSLR camera too…def going on the bday list

  6. June 7, 2010 12:13 am

    Looks so fun and delicious!

  7. June 7, 2010 3:04 am

    SO fun! I hope I can go to a blogger brunch someday πŸ™‚

  8. June 7, 2010 7:29 am

    I’ve never done a blogger meet-up, but I would like to do it some day. It seems that there have been a lot of meet-ups this weekend!

  9. Shari permalink
    June 7, 2010 8:04 am

    What fun! It’s always great to meet people in person after you’ve known and chatted with them online for so long. Glad you had a wonderful time!!

  10. Carolyn @ lovinlosing.com permalink
    June 7, 2010 11:20 am

    I’ve never met any other bloggers, but there are a few not TOO far from me (Richmond) so I’m going to look at organizing one soon. Wanna drive to Richmond? πŸ˜‰

    • June 7, 2010 6:05 pm

      I’ll let you know if I’m ever in the area! πŸ˜€

  11. June 7, 2010 11:39 am

    Arghg– it is SO hard to meet people outside of school. It’s something I’ve found very frustrating in the past couple of years!

    I’m glad you had a great meet-up!

  12. June 7, 2010 12:58 pm

    That’s so great that you were able to do a blogger meet up! It’s so weird how the internet has become such a great tool to get to know people. A year ago I was miserable living in Vegas because I had yet to meet any “real” friends. I joined several groups on meetup.com and now have made some amazing friends. It’s crazy to think the difference the past years has made. Cheers to new friends!

  13. June 7, 2010 1:05 pm

    I was sooo bummed I couldn’t make it to the blogger lunch this weekend. I ended up not being in town Sunday morning (stayed in Bmore after the O’s game!) Let me know if you plan to head to any more blogger meet ups. I’d love to tag along!

    • June 7, 2010 6:05 pm

      Absolutely! Same with you. Or, maybe you and I should just get together haha! πŸ˜‰

  14. June 7, 2010 8:22 pm

    Hey Erin! It was SO great to meet you this weekend…I’m totally digging your post on history museums below…maybe when I’m in the area again we could check one out together. I hope the new job went well today – Im sure you made a great first impression….speak soon, kb πŸ˜€

  15. June 8, 2010 6:19 am

    I wish I could attend some blogger meetings, but I’d first have to fly over to US πŸ™‚

  16. Lizzy permalink
    June 8, 2010 11:09 am

    It was great to meet you! Berry picking sounds like a plan! πŸ™‚

  17. June 9, 2010 11:05 am

    i thought it was going to be awkward, too, but was pleasantly surprised. nice to meet you, erin!

Trackbacks

  1. Ice, ice baby «

Leave a Reply

