Skip to content

Dangerous wild animals

June 2, 2010

It seems like I’m the only person who didn’t know that the secret to freezing bananas is to peel the banana before putting it into the freezer. 😳 Knowing that little secret might have prevented me from slicing open my hand last week… Thanks for the tip.

This has been such a busy week. It’s been a series of days where I look at a clock and realize lunchtime has come and gone without me even noticing. And that is definitely not ordinary for me, the girl who has her meals at regularly scheduled times and looks forward to the next meal as soon as this one is finished. 😉

We took a jaunt to IKEA yesterday and didn’t make it home until nearly 4:00! Of course, a delicious ice cream cone from IKEA’s food court was necessary. :mrgreen:

When I’m this busy, though, I try to make the effort to get outside at least once and take a walk. Plugged into my iPod, it gives me the chance to relax and get a little fresh air.

Just walking the same path every day, I constantly notice new things or actually stop to pay attention to the same old, same old.

I’m not afraid to get up close with some dangerous wild animals.

Even if the most dangerous wild animals we have are rabbits. 😉 There actually have been some coyote sightings — I thought that was only out West! — but generally I see a deer and a handful of rabbits.

Mostly, though, it’s just the pretty flowers.

I really think that walking is my favorite form of exercise. It doesn’t require a lot of strain but is a great way to just move a little bit. I’ve even mastered the art of reading while walking. Yes, sometimes I ditch the iPod and lug around a book instead. Because I’m cool like that. 😉

Okay, more advice needed. We have one lonely basil plant in the apartment right now that has already been a great addition to sauces and stir-frys. What are some other delicious (and easy) herbs to grow?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 9:15 am

    I am so sorry about your hand…
    My husband really wants us to grow some herbs in the house but I am too lazy…

    • June 2, 2010 9:20 am

      I bought the basil already grown and now just need to remember to water it. 😉

  2. Tim permalink
    June 2, 2010 11:47 am

    oregano, mint, rosemary, thyme, sage, parsley… all super duper easy to grow indoors!

  3. June 2, 2010 1:10 pm

    Sage is really hardy and perennial, so you only have to plant it once. Just be careful not to let it take over.

  4. louisianagrown permalink
    June 2, 2010 1:19 pm

    Every single herb that I’ve ever tried to grow has been super easy. I’ve been especially enjoying walking right outside of my door and picking fresh cilantro then immediately including it in a fresh, light summer dish.

  5. June 2, 2010 2:01 pm

    I wish I lived somewhere where I could walk to work. Actually, more like I wish I worked somewhere I would WANT to walk to work.

  6. June 2, 2010 2:20 pm

    Lovely nature pictures, the rabbit is so cute!

  7. June 3, 2010 4:48 pm

    LOL dangerous animals! Totally expecting to see something a little more ferocious 🙂

Leave a Reply

