Skip to content

Soaked.

May 27, 2010

Today is a great day to be a goose.

Geese spend a lot of time in the water. On hot days like this, it’s possible just to swim around all day. Or flap your wings and — boom! — instant fan!

I could have used a set of wings while running errands today. It was close to 95 degrees this afternoon with 50% humidity and my poor old car is sans air conditioning.

It actually hasn’t had A/C for years but that never bothered me too much. I wasn’t in the U.S. for the past couple of summers and even when I was, I never had to commute to far via car.

Soon, though, my commute will be about an hour each way. And if today’s trip is any indication, getting A/C soon is a requirement, not a need.

Let’s just say that when I finally got home, I looked like I’d been hanging out with this guy:

Except that instead of swimming in a lake, I was apparently swimming in a puddle in the driver’s seat. ๐Ÿ˜ณ

Summer, I love you, I hate you, but mostly I love you.

Walking in the door, I headed straight to the blender for a strawberry smoothie. Perfect!

What’s your favorite kind of smoothie?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Shari permalink
    May 27, 2010 3:42 pm

    My favorite is a chocolate banana smoothie … and now I feel like having one, thanks a lot ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And can I just say … Oh my gosh, those geese are too cute!!

  2. May 27, 2010 3:59 pm

    Yeah, we don’t have AC in our house except for a unit in our bedroom, and it is finally HOT here in PA. Sigh. Oh well…I’ll take this over the snow any day! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • May 27, 2010 5:53 pm

      Nice perspective. In the winter, we complain about the cold; in the summer, about the heat. There’s no winning!

  3. May 27, 2010 4:03 pm

    I love smoothies, and my last two blog posts have featured them! Once the warm weather hits I have major smoothie cravings. My favorites: plain banana with banana, yogurt, and maple syrup; and mango banana strawberry. Love ’em.

  4. May 27, 2010 4:05 pm

    I’m sorry your commute is going to be so long and without air conditioning. I’m sure the great job will more than make up for it though!

    I have never been a smoothie person, mostly because if I don’t get to chew something I don’t feel full!

    • May 27, 2010 5:52 pm

      Agreed! I don’t enjoy them as a meal but love smoothies as a refreshing afternoon snack or dessert.

  5. May 27, 2010 4:09 pm

    Those little duckies are so cute!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I like making raspberry smoothies. I also recently tried Amazing Grass chocolate. It was fantastic!

    • May 27, 2010 5:53 pm

      I keep hearing so much about Amazing Grass that it might be time to splurge. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. May 27, 2010 4:12 pm

    The Orange Dream Machine from Jamba Juice! Not sure if it counts … but damn, it’s good.

  7. May 28, 2010 7:35 am

    ha, wouldn’t it be nice if we had wings -not just to allow us to do things quicker but to quickly get away for a while when we need to ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. May 28, 2010 8:39 am

    Smoothies with strawberry is my favourite, yummm…

  9. May 30, 2010 9:21 pm

    Mine is a strawberry banana smoothie.

  10. June 1, 2010 9:49 am

    Green monsters are definitely my favorite smoothies.

Leave a Reply

