Skip to content

Where did May go?

May 26, 2010

It was here, now it’s (almost) gone.

Where did May go?

I really enjoyed reading everyone’s comments on my post yesterday about the man who traveled to 192 countries and sticks to American food the entire time. Some people brought up interesting points. For instance, does he eat the local food in “safe” countries? Would he think it’s okay to eat pasta in Italy or sachertorte in Austria?

A word in defense of Americans, as I am one. ๐Ÿ˜‰ At a hostel in Australia, I met a bunch of really lovely British girls. They were taking advantage of their gap year by traveling around Thailand, Australia, New Zealand and California — that’s a very popular gap year track, it seems.

The girls spent more than a month in Thailand and had incredible stories about their experiences. It was fun swapping tales of life on the islands, places we all knew and generally reminiscing about that beautiful country. Somehow, though, it came up in conversation that the entire time these girls were in Thailand, they ate Western food.

“It’s cheap,” they thought, so why not? They were afraid that Thai food might be dirty and make them sick, that it had unknown ingredients, and that it was different.

I was aghast, as were other people in the conversation who had been to Thailand. But it made me realize that everyone wants something different when they travel. If having a bowl of pasta while in Laos makes you happy and allows you to enjoy the trip to its fullest, go for it

… but don’t be mad when I drag you to every street cart in search of the tastiest morsels. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Seoul, South Korea

Something we can all agree about is that one of the best things about spring–besides being able to wear sundresses and sandals, eat ice cream outside and gaining a healthy glow–is seeing the earth come to life again.

On beautiful days like today, I wake up and fling back the covers, eager to start the day. Okay, to be fair, “start the day” usually means pouring a cup of coffee and lazing around with The Washington Post and “Good Morning America” for an hour, but at least I’m out of bed and full of energy. I don’t even need that cup of coffee. It’s like the sun is caffeinated.

I’m still freelance writing but not spending nearly as much time on it now that I know my days working from home are limited. It’s too nice to be indoors and chained to a laptop today! In a couple of weeks, all this freedom will be but a happy memory… :mrgreen:

What is your favorite thing about spring?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 12:23 pm

    I know what you mean about this year FLYING! I can’t wait to have some free time to travel, though, due to my limited paycheck my summer travels are limited to states in the US I have not yet seen (ie, the middle, farming part of the country).

    Congrats on the new job coming up soon!!

    • May 26, 2010 9:31 pm

      Thanks! There’s definitely a lot of the US to explore–that should keep you busy for a while.

  2. May 26, 2010 1:50 pm

    I love spring because it has the promise of something even better. The nature is waking up after a long winter and we get a small preview what our summer will be ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. May 26, 2010 3:35 pm

    I love street food – oh goodness yum.

  4. Shari permalink
    May 26, 2010 3:47 pm

    Oh gosh, what’s not to love? I don’t know if I can choose just one thing. The sight and smell of the blooming flowers (lilacs are my absolute favorite!), the return of warm weather, all the animals who make a reappearance (with the exception of the birds who INSIST on singing a chorus outside my window every morning at 4:30, haha) … all of it! There’s something about the idea of the outside world blossoming that just HAS to make you smile ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. prettytimepiece permalink
    May 27, 2010 11:17 am

    i love trying new ethnic food ๐Ÿ™‚

    my favorite things about spring are definitely the super BRIGHTness of some flowers, like when you see them after such a long winter you can hardly believe it. and those random heat waves when you get a taste of summer and happily don a sundress. and biking and the air finally feeling warm!

    โค

    http://www.prettytimepiece.org

  6. May 27, 2010 12:24 pm

    I think one of the greatest parts about traveling is experiencing the culture (and therefore food)! But that’s just my thoughts ๐Ÿ™‚

    Favorite part about spring = the warm weather. It just makes ya happy

  7. May 30, 2010 9:18 pm

    Love that I’m no longer freezing my butt off or shoveling snow when spring shows. Also love my golf ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. June 1, 2010 9:47 am

    I hate spring! Here, spring means pouring down rain, alternating random days of actual nice weather that trick you into thinking summer will come soon, only to turn suddenly 20-40 degrees cooler with thunderstorms.

    When summer finally comes it feels like I’ve been through some sort of marathon to get there!

    But ice cream definitely makes a good summer day, great!

Leave a Reply

