Skip to content

“Crabcakes and football, that’s what Maryland does!”

May 24, 2010

Wedding Crashers reference? Anyone?

Okay, so maybe Maryland football had a 2-10 record last season but we do have great crabcakes. Nothing can beat homemade but if you have to go out, it’s important to choose wisely. The key is finding an all lump meat crabcake with very little filling.

Enter, Bobby’s Crabcakes.

This restaurant opened a couple of years ago with a pretty extensive menu that you can totally ignore: just order the crabcakes.

Actually, you will need to decide between a crabcake platter or crabcake sandwich. Ditch the bun. Why would you want to muffle the delicious flavor of crab with two pieces of bread?

If you’re eating with another person, save money by ordering the double platter, which comes with two crabcakes. It costs less than ordering two single crabcake platters and comes with more than enough fries and coleslaw for both of you.

Personally, I’m not a fan of tartar sauce. Pass the cocktail sauce, please!

Of course, you need to load up on sides, too. This is no time to go on a diet.

I actually don’t like coleslaw but ate about 3/4 of that fries platter myself. They were that good. ๐Ÿ˜€

My mom and sister got jealous that the food was getting all of the attention and wanted to be on the blog, too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

There ya go!

Crabcakes are definitely best made at home, when you can control what goes in them and how they are cooked. But if you’re in the DC area and looking for a great crabcake, Bobby’s definitely hits the spot.

Other nearby places to get a good crabcake, in my purely subjective opinion, are Indigo Landing–which has the most gorgeous views of the Potomac River and DC Skyline–and BlackSalt.

Be sure you’re getting Maryland crab. Many restaurants use crab from the Gulf Coast or South America to cut prices but support the local economy, cut your carbon footprint and eat fresh by ordering only Maryland crab. Ask before you order.

What food is your city or state known for?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 3:09 pm

    Tartar sauce + fries = happy me.

    Louisiana…gumbo, crawfish, king cake, hurricanes, jambalaya….yum ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. louisianagrown permalink
    May 24, 2010 5:15 pm

    We have some pretty good Gulf crab cakes down here, but I think all of our other local dishes outshine them. I’ve been to Maryland once, but didn’t get a chance to try them. Those look delicious!

    • May 24, 2010 5:22 pm

      I want to visit Louisiana just for the food. Okay, not JUST for the food but that’s a big part.

  3. May 24, 2010 5:28 pm

    Peaches? Of course, I still think I’m from Maryland but you already covered that one.

  4. May 24, 2010 8:14 pm

    Yumm!! I had crabcakes this weekend, too!

  5. May 24, 2010 10:22 pm

    Since I live along the Chesapeake Bay, also, crab is a big thing here, too. Ever had She-crab soup? Delicious!

    • May 25, 2010 6:32 am

      That sounds delicious! I’ll have to look for it.

  6. May 25, 2010 2:00 am

    As I live in the capital city area of Finland I must say there are no signature dishes, but a mix of all traditional dishes in Finland are served here ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. May 25, 2010 6:08 am

    No signature food around here really. MAybe it should be french fries as we have 4 chip trucks open this summer. 2 more than this town probably needs!

  8. May 25, 2010 6:53 am

    I used to live in MD and definitely had my first experience of cleaning a steamed crab there -it was good but I must admit I thought “I’m playing all this money to take all this time to clean the crab and then there’s only that much meat to eat?” I think I prefer to have someone prepare it for me, ha ๐Ÿ™‚

    • May 25, 2010 9:17 am

      Agreed! I’ve only had steamed crabs once–it’s mostly an Eastern Shore thing–and it is way too much work. Give me a crabcake any day! ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. May 25, 2010 9:27 am

    Have you had the crab cakes at Eastern Market???? if not please go soon and get them…they will rock your world!

    • May 25, 2010 10:55 am

      Ooooh thanks for the tip! Love Eastern Market.

  10. May 25, 2010 9:29 am

    The place actually has crabcakes in the name? Awesome. :d

  11. May 25, 2010 9:59 am

    Wedding crashers is the best. I love crab cakes and have not really spent any significant time in Maryland, so when I do that is the first thing I am doing. Well, eating.

    I have been living in LA which is known for… um, people who donยดt eat. And thirteen different froyo shops on every block. And gourmet bakeries where suckers like me spend 10 bucks on a cupcake and a glass of milk.

  12. May 25, 2010 10:30 am

    I live in blue crab country and had a delicious fresh crab dinner last night…caught from our dock. I may try that restaurant some time.

    • May 25, 2010 10:56 am

      The crabcakes here are good but probably can’t compare to anything that goes straight from the bay to the plate. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. May 25, 2010 10:39 am

    your fam is full of pretty ladies! aw man, maryland crabcakes make me sorta want to ditch this whole vegetarianism thang ive had going for a few years ;). i have a ton of family in maryland, hope to go back there and visit soon!

    • May 25, 2010 10:56 am

      Fish (and shellfish, I guess) is the reason I could never go fully veg. Chicken, beef, pork=no prob.

  14. May 25, 2010 12:13 pm

    well I am originally from boston.. so I think Clam Chawder is what’s known for… now i leave in TX and TEX MEX and BBQ is a must when you visit Houston.

    • May 25, 2010 2:47 pm

      Houston has great food! My aunt lives there and always talks about the amazing ethnic food. Thai, Vietnamese, Mexican…yum!

  15. May 25, 2010 5:22 pm

    I’m from Maryland too. I love that wedding Crashers reference… great movie! I had Bobbys Crabcakes a while ago, its what we’re all about! haha

  16. June 9, 2010 9:00 pm

    Erin,

    My name is Sari Kurland Bloch and I am Bobby’s wife. I am sending this email to you to thank you for your wonderful blog posting about our restaurant. It is so exciting for Bobby and I to see the joy our customers experience from dining at the restaurant and loving the food. Bobby and I work so hard to bring the best quality crabcakes, seafood, fish, steak, salads, etc that we can to our customers.
    I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your meal and I hope you come back again and introduce yourself to us so that we can get to know you in person. We are so lucky to have such wonderful fans and thank you very much for your kind words!!

    Sari Kurland Bloch
    Bobby’s Crabcakes

Trackbacks

  1. How you got here «

Leave a Reply

