Skip to content

Vegetarian paradise

May 18, 2010

You know a restaurant is veggie-friendly when this is printed on the inside menu cover:

Aladdin’s Eatery is a Lebanese restaurant in Shirlington, Virginia, which is a city I had never visited before. It’s home to Signature Theatre and that’s what brought me to Shirlington: seeing the funny musical “[title of show].”

If you are a theatre buff, you’ll like “[title of show].” <— yes, that is the name of the play! ๐Ÿ˜€ It’s filled with references to shows that you’d pretty much have to know about or else be totally clueless.

Before the show, though, it was time for dinner. A little rain can’t stop me from sitting outside as long as there’s an awning overhead.

The menu mentions the Mujadara Plate (“a bed of steamed lentils and rice topped with Lebanese Salata, and garnished with toasted onions”) a couple of times so I had to try it.

The overall flavor was delicious but it is maybe a little too heavy on the lentils, since I was uncomfortably full for literally the next 24 hours, and pretty dry. It could have used a sauce or added moistness.

What’s Lebanese food without fresh pita?

And we all know that the secret to a happy life is hummus, so naturally that had to be ordered, too.

I thought the food at Aladdin Eatery was good overall but I probably wouldn’t order that lentils dish again. I wish there had been a vegetarian platter with a few different entrees, giving more variety on the plate. Still, I would go back and definitely try something new.

I liked that vegetarian food featured so prominently on the menu, although there were plenty of meat dishes to choose from. Aladdin Eatery seems to be a mindful restaurant for conscious eaters. I like this “about” statement on its website:

The pita bread contains no fat, cholesterol, or oil. No sulfites or preservatives are used. Only fresh vegetables and meats appear on the menus. Over seventy menu items are Vegetarian or Vegan. Imported olive oil is used for both homemade salad dressings and saute’s. Aladdin’s Eatery offers twelve varieties of natural herb teas without artificial flavoring or preservatives. Juices are squeezed to order to ensure maximum freshness.

It’s another dreary, rainy day here but the sun will hopefully be out by Thursday! Brittany and I got approved for our apartment and are signing the lease tomorrow so now it’s just a matter of packing…

How many times have you moved houses? I’ve lived in 17-18 different places if you count college dorms, so I’m quite the experienced mover! :mrgreen:

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 3:20 pm

    I wonder if Aladdin’s is a chain–I used to go to a Middle Eastern Aladdin’s in Ithaca… Then again, it’s probably a flip-a-coin kinda name for Middle Eastern restaurants. Too bad the lentil-rice dish was blah; when it’s good, that dish is awesome.

    Congrats on lease-signing tomorrow! Yikes, is that a crazy number of moves. I think I’ve moved 23 times, at last count, and it’s never over. Packing never stops sucking, but you do learn to detach from stuff pretty quickly!

    • May 18, 2010 3:22 pm

      Wow, you win! ๐Ÿ˜€ It is a chain, apparently, although mostly in Chicago. I’d never heard of it before. Lebanese food is my fave.

  2. May 18, 2010 3:33 pm

    I’ve moved so much that I’m conveniently working when people I know are moving ๐Ÿ™‚ (most times I am!)

    I’m not going to look into that show as I’m worried I’ll be classified clueless ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. May 18, 2010 6:07 pm

    I agree about the hummus. It is the key to happiness.

    I just counted; including college dorms, I’ve lived in 14 places. I’m about to move to my 15th.

  4. May 18, 2010 6:11 pm

    Ahh! Our best friends live in Shirlington, and I ate there the first week that I became vegetarian (we were flying out of DC, and spent the night there). Glad you liked it!

  5. May 18, 2010 7:58 pm

    I wish I knew how to move house. I have lived in my house since I was two years old and havent lived anywhere else that I can remember. I love home, but I wish that I could have lived somewhere else during the 20 years I have been alive!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. May 19, 2010 12:22 am

    WOW! you’ve moved around a LOT! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve moved 6 times in the past 8 years.

  7. Susan permalink
    May 19, 2010 6:52 am

    We have 4 Aladdin’s in Pittsburgh – BIG Lebanese community! Yeah, their hummus is just mediocre, but their falafel salad and lentil soup is out of this world!

    Did you check out the dessert case? Droolgasms.

    Have a good day!

  8. Susan permalink
    May 19, 2010 6:53 am

    Oh and congrats on your apartment!!!!

  9. May 19, 2010 10:19 pm

    I thought I had moved a lot, but not even close compared to others! I lived in one house until I was 14, then another until I was 19, then one more by 20. Then five different apartments. So…7 times?

Trackbacks

  1. Is an opened white wine safe still for cooking if its in the refrig for 2 or more weeks? | Wine Cooler Refrigerator

Leave a Reply

