Skip to content

Opa!

May 16, 2010

Aren’t we all a little bit Greek at heart? As overbearing as the family could be in My Big, Fat Greek Wedding, wouldn’t it be kind of cool to have a huge family that throws massive, over-the-top parties?

I got to pretend to be Greek this weekend at the Saint Sophia Greek Festival, which is always a fun time. No plate smashing, unfortunately, but I stuffed myself with a gyro the size of my head, had a palm reading and did a little shopping. All the makings of a successful weekend. 😉

I actually didn’t get the chance to take a tour of the cathedral so that’s definitely something for next year. Isn’t this 105-year-old building stunning?

Luckily Lauren is always up for an adventure so she accompanied me on this mini tour of Greece, which managed to completely fulfill every Greek stereotype.

Meat on a spit:

Cheesy music and pop stars:

Gorgeous crafts:

(I picked up a set of these for my new apartment. The colors were just too beautiful to resist!)

Amazing food:

Yes, I ate lamb. I’m mostly a vegetarian, and certainly any time I’m at a restaurant and don’t know where the meat came from, but for factory farming and health (antibiotics, hormones) reasons, not moral. So I ate lamb and didn’t regret it for a minute. Delicious.

These gyros were huge. As evidence:

Lauren’s parents should be so proud that they raised a lady. 😉 I ate mine with a fork, thank you very much. :mrgreen:

Inside the craft tent were booths selling art, jewelry, Greek groceries, clothes, even a fortune-teller.

Maybe my palms are hard to read because the fortune-teller was so far off. I’ve always been curious about talking to a psychic but this definitely didn’t fulfill my expectations. Still, Lauren’s was a little closer to the mark so maybe I’m just a tough nut to crack!

It was the perfect day to be outside–hot, sunny and zero humidity. This definitely fueled my desire to visit Greece, too. It’s always been near the top of my to-visit list and now might be the #1 place on that list, alongside Egypt, Israel and Peru.

If you just look at the gorgeous cathedral and ignore all the other buildings around it, you almost feel like you are in Greece. Minus the violent protesters and Riot Dog.

Have you ever been to Greece? Do you want to go?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2010 2:35 pm

    Those crafts you bought a set of were coaster? They do look great. Never been to Greece and it’s never really been on my list. To be honest I really don’t have a list going though!

    • May 16, 2010 7:22 pm

      Trivets, to put hot plates/dishes on. Nice to hang for decoration, too. 🙂

  2. louisianagrown permalink
    May 16, 2010 9:02 pm

    I’ve never been anywhere close to Greece, but it’s definitely on my list of places to visit before I die. The food, the architecture, the culture… I love it!

  3. May 16, 2010 9:28 pm

    Greece is one of the places I’ve ALWAYS wanted to go. It’s top in my list! And tee hee, my name is Sophia too! >__<

  4. May 16, 2010 10:29 pm

    How much fun! The gyro looks awesome. Greece is definately a place I would like to go!

  5. May 16, 2010 10:57 pm

    Cool! I love Greek food. Greece is the place I want to go on my honeymoon someday.

  6. May 17, 2010 1:09 am

    i’ve never been to greece but it is really high on my list of places to travel next. i’ve watched sisterhood of the traveling pants II several times just to oogle the gorgeousness of it! too bad the country is like falling apart right now! but i bet the food is still great ;). wow those crafts are stunning!

  7. May 17, 2010 5:31 am

    I was in Greece about ten years ago, as a side trip from Israel (which is beautiful too – you need to visit both!) I went with two friends, and we went to Athens and explored a bunch of the islands. It’s a very beautiful, laid back country with delicious food. Couldn’t get enough of the stuffed tomatoes and peppers.

  8. May 17, 2010 7:22 am

    I would looove to be able to go to Greece -that festival looks so fun!

  9. May 17, 2010 7:22 am

    I would looove to be able to go to Greece -that festival looks so fun!

  10. May 17, 2010 9:36 am

    That looks like an amaaazing gyro. I absolutely love them and LOOOVE when there’s lots of juicy sauce that spills over the sides when you bite in to it. hahaha 🙂 What a fabulous festival!! Greece is such a romantic place…i’d love to go there one day!

  11. May 17, 2010 1:13 pm

    Woohoo for eating lamb! Next time I go to a Greek event, I’m inviting you. They’re wonderful spectacles. I wish I could have been there! 😦

  12. May 17, 2010 8:35 pm

    Egypt and Peru are on my shortlist, too. Hmmm…

  13. May 18, 2010 7:55 am

    I’ve been to Athens (heaven!) and Hersonissos and will definitely go back, I love GReek food 🙂

  14. May 22, 2010 7:48 am

    I have been to Greece… just Athens on the mainland, and then I visited Mykonos, Santorini, Crete, and the other two famous one where St. John’s Grotto is and stuff. I am embarrassed that I forgot the names, but I am a little scatterbrained at the moment.

    In all honesty I didn’t think Athens was that great besides the acropolis, kind of dirty and weird… and I have been a lot of places and rarely say that I wouldn’t be THRILLED to go back to any destination! But I had a lot of drama with lost luggage etc. so that could have tainted it for me. But the islands, too… Santorini was amazing but the beaches are not that nice and are a bit dirty. Overall I definitely liked Greece a lot but I think compared to a ton of other cheaper destinations, it is a bit too hyped up if you are going for any reasons besides the historical stuff (so amazing if you are interested in biblical history and stuff like that)!

Trackbacks

  1. I’m a little teapot «
  2. Addicted «

Leave a Reply

