Skip to content

Scone Appreciation Society

May 13, 2010

Stop whatever you are doing and make this now.

Cranberry-walnut scones. (and, they’re vegan!)

Can I confess that I used to hate scones? I thought they were dry and tasteless, the poor man’s muffin.

No, not that kind of muffin. Dirty Betty White! 😉

Anyway, I was a firm believer in the power of muffins and a member of the anti-scone brigade. But then came a semester in London, where we used to regularly have afternoon tea at The Orangery at Kensington Palace.

Oh yes, tea at the palace. It was a pretty glamorous, high-class life. :mrgreen:

It was there that I began to really enjoy a nice scone. After all, a good scone shouldn’t be dry or bland, although a little jam and clotted cream are always good toppings.

Stow-on-the-Wold, England

I’m not sure where the clotted cream went in that photo but if you’ve never experienced the amazingness of unpasteurized cow’s milk with a minimum fat content of 55 percent, you’re missing out.

You only live once, right?

So back to the reason for this post: I made scones for the first time! There are tons of scone recipes online and in cookbooks but a lot of them called for ingredients I didn’t have, like buttermilk or heavy cream.

This ended up being so much easier and less complicated than I expected. Even my sister, Kate, who isn’t usually a scone fan, loved these.

Vegan Cranberry-Walnut Scones
makes 8

Ingredients:

1.5 cups all-purpose flour

.5 cup whole wheat-flour

.5 cup brown or turbinado sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

.5 tsp sea salt

.5 cup dried cranberries

.5 cup sliced walnuts

2 tbsp Smart Balance (or butter)

3/4 cup milk (rice/almond/cow’s/hemp/soy)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Put a piece of parchment paper onto a cookie sheet and set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together the flours, sugar, baking powder and soda, and salt. Add the butter and combine until it looks crumbly.

Mix in the cranberries, walnuts and milk. The dough should have the consistency of cookie dough.

Plop the dough onto a floured countertop and knead gently, forming it into a circle. Cut the dough into 8 triangles, like slicing a cake.

Put each section onto the cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes.

—–

Scones used to intimidate me but no more — I’m brave!

What food did you used to dislike that you now enjoy?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. anna marie permalink
    May 13, 2010 3:27 pm

    Scones were on the original plan for today (it’s a holiday in Germany–Ascension Day), but we scrapped them in favour of eggs benedict/florentine–a better brunch food, anyway, and muffins were easier to add to the mix than scones. And also because i thought there might be a chance that i could get a hold of some unpasteurized milk (to then separate out the cream to then clot the cream) if i waited a couple weeks. So we’re planning a proper english tea (with cucumber sandwiches and scones and hopefully clotted cream!) for a few weeks from now, when my mother and grandfather and his wife will all be in town.

    But your post strikes the right chord at the right time. 🙂 I think we’re going to go for very plain scones plus some fresh-berry scones. But we’ve a few weeks to figure it out. But maybe I should reconsider and make these ones. Actually, I think our plain ones should at least get walnuts added. I love nuts in my breakfast-ish foods (pancakes, too!).

    And as for your question, I find, ironically, the three hardest foods for me to eat–shrimp, bananas, and raisins–are all foods I once LOVED. the opposite of your scone story. I have, however, come around on fish. And can eat tomatoes. And I can even stomach shrimp and bananas, when necessary. Raisins, however, remain elusive.

  2. Tommy Ashton permalink
    May 13, 2010 3:42 pm

    If you have to settle for a commercially-produced scone, the orange scones at Au Bon Pain are my comfort food.

  3. May 13, 2010 6:04 pm

    I LOVE scones!! So classy! Thanks for the recipe!

  4. Danielle permalink
    May 13, 2010 8:12 pm

    I was just like you- used to hate scones, now they’re great! These sound tastyyyy, and vegan? Score 😀

  5. May 14, 2010 7:29 am

    I will have to make these scones because somehow I can’t imagine that a scone made with Smart Balance can rival the flakiness that you get from cutting cold butter into the flour.

    I’m really jealous that you had afternoon tea. I sooo want to have afternoon tea sometime.

  6. May 14, 2010 8:13 am

    I love the cute teapot!

    I used to hate tomatoes, btu am slowly learning to like them again 🙂

  7. May 14, 2010 9:50 am

    Scone appreciation society? Count me in! If I wasn’t at work I WOULD make these right now!

  8. May 14, 2010 11:58 am

    beans! I never really ate them before Africa–I am a “texture person” with food and I didn’t like their consistency–but I started eating them here out of necessity and now I can’t imagine my life without them.

  9. May 14, 2010 9:07 pm

    love tea time, along with a good scone! I used to not like avacados but now I can’t get enough of them!

Trackbacks

  1. I’m a little teapot «

Leave a Reply

