Skip to content

Podcast love

May 11, 2010

Thanks for all the good wishes on the new apartment. We should hear in the next couple of days if we’re officially approved so please keep your fingers crossed!

The weather today completely threw me for a loop. Saturday, I wore a sundress and got sunburned. Today, I wore a fleece and came home with totally numb hands and damp jacket. When did winter come back?

Today’s workout was definitely nontraditional: my car is getting some work done so I dropped it off at the auto body shop and walked the eight miles back home. My mom and sister were amazed that I would voluntarily walk versus getting a bus or a cab but I knew it would be my only change to exercise today and, mixed with a little jogging when I got chilly, it only took an hour and 40 minutes.

Thankfully the rain held off until about 5 minutes before I got home and an iPod chock-full of great podcasts kept me entertainment: This American Life, Radiolab, Savage Love, Fresh Air and The Moth.

I’ve really gotten into podcasts over the past few months, much more so than music. Each show teaches me something, makes me laugh, forces me to think and challenges my beliefs and ideas. I love the way Radiolab makes science interesting, Fresh Air tackles a subject I know nothing about and The Moth, well, it just makes me laugh/cry/cringe depending on the topic.

Busy day, productive day, and still a crazy week ahead but I’m actually loving having a lot on my plate. Some people work best under stress and I am definitely one of those people.

Do you listen to any podcasts?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 7:10 pm

    Oh I love podcasting sermons from Mars Hill church in seattle. The preacher is Mark Discroll and I love his sermons.

  2. May 11, 2010 9:11 pm

    So happy you like Savage Love!

  3. May 11, 2010 9:18 pm

    I’ve been replaying the Jillian Michaels podcasts you told me about and the one called”Vinyl Cafe” from CBC radio.

    Been to lazy to look into others even though I’ve tired of my current ones now 🙂

  4. May 12, 2010 4:02 am

    check out Stuff You Should Know. if you like learning random facts about random, interesting things 🙂

  5. May 12, 2010 9:41 am

    Love, love This American Life! I also like the Times Talk podcasts– they interview some great actors!

    For food, I like Colleen Patrick Goudreau’s podcast, The Compassionate Cook!

  6. May 12, 2010 3:41 pm

    I am embarassed to say that the onlly podcasts I’ve ever listened to are Jillian’s Michaels. I definitely need to look into some of these so thank you for the great recommendations.

    And good luck on all the jobs you are applying for. Blogging full time and getting paid for it sounds like a fabulous idea to me!

  7. May 12, 2010 5:54 pm

    I listen to This American Life every week. I download All Songs Considered and The Moth, but often forget to list to them.

  8. anna marie permalink
    May 12, 2010 6:29 pm

    i really liked radiolab’s most recent short (on memory loss and writing). fascinating! have really gotten into that one. and of course, this american life. 🙂

  9. cbrazas permalink
    May 12, 2010 7:53 pm

    This American Life is one of my favorite parts of my 45 minute commute. I also really enjoy Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me.

  10. May 13, 2010 5:30 am

    I’ve never listened to a podcast, but I’m very curious about them because everyone seems to talk about them 🙂

  11. May 14, 2010 10:43 pm

    I’m definitely behind the times as I have never listened to a podcast before!

  12. May 14, 2010 11:02 pm

    nice topic………….

Leave a Reply

