Skip to content

Fly away

May 10, 2010

I’m ready to fly away!

Brittany and I found an apartment! We turned in the application and security deposit so hopefully we’ll move in June 1. It’s not in downtown DC like we were hoping but is in gorgeous downtown Bethesda, which has tons of restaurants, shops and fun things to do within walking distance.

You really learn so much apartment shopping and our biggest lesson was that it’s incredible how much more you can get for your money if you’re willing to look a mile outside of your target area. Pictures to come once we’ve moved in, painted and gotten settled in. We’re already discussing which shade of yellow is best for a kitchen. πŸ˜‰

Most importantly, there is a library, a Trader Joe’s and 2 Metro stops within 10 minutes’ walk. What more do you need?

Now I’m starting to feel the pressure of packing and getting organized for a move, combined with the excitement of decorating a new place and starting this adventure.

I’m also feeling the pressure of paying rent without having a full-time job. At least this will force me to live really frugally for a while, spending money only on groceries and gas until something full-time comes through.

What did/do you study at school? I dreamed of anchoring CNN or becoming the next Diane Sawyer, so I got a degree in broadcast journalism and politics. It’s funny the way life turns out. Now, I’m applying for writing and politics jobs without any broadcast career in mind. Except for my ultimate life goal of being Samantha Brown. :mrgreen:

Diane Sawyer, National Press Club, DC

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 5:37 pm

    Congrats on your new place!

    I majored in Mathematics and Statistics with a minor in Business Administration.

  2. May 10, 2010 5:50 pm

    You’ll be neighbors with my mom! She lives in downtown Bethesda.

    I majored in Studio Art and minored in English. I didn’t realize at the time that you can’t do very much with an art degree except being a graphic designer, which I am.

  3. May 10, 2010 6:00 pm

    oh so exciting to have an apt and in the midst of all that fun stuff!

    I love Samatha Brown too!

  4. May 10, 2010 6:09 pm

    Sounds like a great location! Good luck with moving,painting,etc.

    I took a Machine Shop Operations course and never used it once!

  5. May 10, 2010 9:13 pm

    I got my Bachelors in International Studies and my Masters in Instructional Design/Technology. And..I’m actually an Instructional Designer. πŸ™‚

  6. May 10, 2010 9:55 pm

    Can’t wait to see pictures of your new place!

    I majored in English and minored in creative writing, and then got my MFA in creative writing (in poetry). I teach English and creative writing classes now, so it was a pretty useful degree…despite what people say about English majors πŸ™‚

  7. foodlovingpolarbear permalink
    May 11, 2010 1:04 am

    This is so funny, I had the same dream but for some reason I wanted to work for BBC πŸ˜€

    That dream is long gone as I found my real dreamjob (well, I wouldn’t turn down an offer from BBC ;)) and enjoy doing what I do now. it’s also exactly what I studied; my degree was multilingual management assistant and I love it because you never know what the next day brings πŸ™‚

    Congrats on the apartment!

    • May 11, 2010 6:14 am

      Haha I actually interned at the BBC’s Washington bureau for a summer. Great company! πŸ˜€

  8. May 11, 2010 5:28 am

    congrats on finding a place!

  9. The Books and Fitness Girls permalink
    May 11, 2010 6:32 am

    Congrats on the new place. Very exciting news.
    I studied Sociology with a minor in criminology. Those were the days when I wanted to work in a sector the canadian govt that required such studies. Now, I am in transportation! Totally left field. That is life though. As the saying goes, man plans, God laughs.

  10. May 11, 2010 8:48 am

    Bethesda is gorrrrgeous! I love it there and there are so many wonderful restaurants. Plus there’s a really nice running trail there. I’ve never used it but I’ve been told. I bet it would be great for walks!

    Good luck with the move I hope it goes well!

  11. May 11, 2010 2:37 pm

    So happy you found a place, although sad it didn’t work out for you to live with us :)/:(

  12. Susan permalink
    May 11, 2010 2:50 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! It sounds pretty close to perfect!

  13. Simone permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:14 am

    congrats!!! can’t wait to check it out πŸ™‚ one step closer to conquering the world-er-the red line

  14. May 12, 2010 3:44 pm

    Congratulations on your new apartment! How exciting for you.

    I would have loved to be Diane Sawyer but I am not nearly articulate enough for tv. I wish that I’d pursued a more exciting career in publishing/writing instead of finance. It pays the bills and I like it but I definitely feel like I settled! Don’t settle Erin!!

  15. May 14, 2010 11:03 pm

    it’;s good…………………….

Leave a Reply

