Skip to content

World’s best dumplings

May 5, 2010

One of my favorite dinner spots in Seoul was Sinpo Woori, which specializes in handmade mandu (dumplings). There were a few different varieties–for a while, there was even pizza mandu that sadly disappeared from the menu–and my favorite was vegetable and shrimp, which was flavored with the most incredible ginger sauce.

Oh my gosh, my mouth is watering just thinking of it!

Sinpo Woori is actually where I ate my last meal in Korea, come to think of it. :mrgreen:

Sinpo Woori, Seoul

But where to find great dumplings in America, especially out in the suburbs?

Enter Batik.

This restaurant is new to the neighborhood but has already received rave reviews from Washingtonian, whose reviewer said the food was so good, he would come back again and pay with his own money.

A few seats are at an outdoor patio but most are in this laid-back dining room, which is really light and airy. The menu is mostly Thai and Japanese, with some Korean steak (bulgogi) thrown in for good measure.

I started with a Thai iced tea.

If you’ve never tried Thai iced tea before, it’s a very sweet drink made with tea, sugar and evaporated milk. I’ve never been served such a huge glass of it before and it was a little too sweet–but refreshing!

Next up, the most amazing dumplings I’ve ever had… outside of Asia. 😉 The “Squash It” dumplings are filled with squash, zucchini, carrots, sweet potato and ginger.

I did not want to share! These were absolutely perfectly cooked, not falling apart at all but soft and tasty on the inside. I would go back and just get a few orders of these dumplings for dinner. Mmmm…

For an entrée, I chose the vegetarian red curry.

Look at all the gorgeous colors! It was served with red rice, which has a distinct flavor compared to brown or white rice. We used to get purple rice in Korea but I think that was colored with octopus or squid ink…

I cleaned my plate! I love supporting the local restaurants in the neighborhood rather than the big chains–I adore Panera and Chipotle as much as the next person but it’s better to know my money is going to support a local business. One thing is certain: I’ll definitely be going back to Batik soon. Yum.

Have you tried any new restaurants recently? Was it a good or bad experience?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 8:56 pm

    I don’t have any new restaurants to share. I eat 100% of my food at home because I can control the ingredients. There are too many things hiding in restaurant food that like to make me feel bad!

    Although, I am looking forward to my birthday in one week. I will go to Sweet Tomatoes (sometimes known as Soup Plantation) where I can pick and choose the foods I trust!

    • May 5, 2010 8:57 pm

      lol, I just realized how funny that sounds. I do eat most of my food at home, but I guess it is more like 99% of the time since there are times like my birthday where I go to a restaurant I trust.

    • May 6, 2010 5:23 am

      I prefer eating at home, too. Any restaurant called Soup Plantation sounds good to me!

  2. foodlovingpolarbear permalink
    May 5, 2010 11:39 pm

    YUM! I love the decor of the restaurant and the drink looks so refreshing! 🙂

    I haven’t tried any new restaurants in a while, but am definitely going to 🙂

  3. May 6, 2010 8:41 am

    He “said the food was so good, he would come back again and pay with his own money”?
    Wow, this guy is a piece of work. Does he not eat anywhere unless it’s on the Washingtonian’s tab?

    The dumplings do look good though. So good, in fact, that I might actually pay to eat them.

  4. May 9, 2010 1:27 pm

    Octopus/squid ink WHAT?!?! That just ruined my day/grossed me out beyond belief. I thought beans made it purple!!!!

  5. Diana ward permalink
    May 13, 2010 5:02 am

    No, they put korean black beans in the rice which dye the rest of the white rice purple kiddo. You know you miss Korea as much as we miss you! But this restaurant does look nice. Too bad I’ll probably never make it to the east coast to go there….

Trackbacks

  1. Almost like old times at Mandu «

Leave a Reply

