Skip to content

¡Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

May 5, 2010

What kind of 1/8 Mexican chica would I be if I forgot to mention that it’s Cinco de Mayo?!

Probably the same kind of 1/8 Mexican chica who celebrated Thanksgiving 2008 with tacos.

Definitely the same kind of 1/8 Mexican chica who introduced Korean coworkers to their first taste of Mexican food.

And (sadly?) the same kind of 1/8 Mexican chica who once wrote a blog post called “My Chipotle ’tis of thee.”

But not the kind of 1/8 Mexican chica who is eating Mexican food tonight.

1/8 Mexican chica fail.

Are you doing anything fun for Cinco de Mayo?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 6:08 pm

    I ate some refried beans and salsa. Does that count?

  2. Danielle permalink
    May 5, 2010 6:58 pm

    1/8th Mexican?? That’s cool 😀 I wish I even knew my family that far back haha

    • May 5, 2010 7:59 pm

      haha unfortunately I am ZERO percent culturally or physically Mexican but I blame my ancestry on my obsession with Mexican food. 😉

  3. May 5, 2010 7:33 pm

    ha, I love this! I wish I did something more festive – but just told everyone I know “happy cinco de mayo” 🙂

  4. May 5, 2010 9:02 pm

    I did notta for it. Not a big thing up here in Canada. Media may bring it up but no one I come into contact has the past week. If it wasn’t for blogs like yours I wouldn’t have known about it.

  5. louisianagrown permalink
    May 6, 2010 7:43 am

    LOL. This is too funny. I didn’t do anything for Cinco de Mayo either. Mexican restaurants in Baton Rouge had two hour PLUS waits, and I just wasn’t down for that. I’m supposed to be studying for finals anyway…

  6. May 6, 2010 9:35 am

    I did nothing for Cinco de Mayo as usual. I forgot it was even a holiday yesterday, thats how out of it I was and am usually! But I do feel like eating some Chipotle now!

  7. May 6, 2010 10:56 am

    It sounds like you’ve made up for it on other occasions so no worries! =P

  8. May 8, 2010 10:21 am

    I had black bean wraps and salsa, but otherwise no celebration here. I wish I knew what nationality I was!

Leave a Reply

