Skip to content

En plein air

April 30, 2010

The hardest thing about going back to a real job will be giving up this:

I love that on a gorgeous day like today, I can take my laptop outside onto the patio with a glass of iced tea and do everything from search for a job to write freelance articles. How many jobs offer the option to work outside? I love having the flexibility of working anywhere: coffee shops, museums, parks…

When I worked in Korea, there were days when my entire schedule was writing lesson plans. When there weren’t enough computers available in the office, the programming team always asked if I “minded” working from home. Of course I didn’t mind! It was summer, so working by the pool or at least sitting next to an open window was much better than being crammed into the hot and stuffy computer lab, where students banged on the glass walls like teachers were animals in the zoo. 😉

It feels like summer is finally here, especially with all the festivals kicking off this weekend. It’s fun to see my entire schedule packed with fun–and free!–activities on Saturday and Sunday and it looks like the weather is going to play along for once, holding off on the thunderstorms until next week.

What do you have planned this weekend?

I’m the Featured Foodie today on Travel Eat Love — I adore Meghan’s travel pictures and delicious eats, all served with a glass of wine. 😉

Marathoners, what do you think about this article? A Dream’s Run: Can professional training improve a middle-aged runner’s marathon time?

And as long as we’re self-promoting… check out my True Washington article in the May/June issue of Wild Blue Yonder. :mrgreen:

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 1:12 pm

    A low-key weekend of babysitting, teaching and hopefully getting some rest is my plan!

  2. April 30, 2010 2:40 pm

    oh you are making me wish I was in DC!!!

  3. April 30, 2010 8:10 pm

    Thanks for being willing to be featured today! I love your blog! (and am SUPER jealous of your outdoor working today!)

  4. April 30, 2010 9:21 pm

    If the weather holds up tomorrow–50 mile bike ride!

  5. April 30, 2010 9:35 pm

    I sort of have an outdoor job as I drive around delivering all day. Not quite the same as you mentioned but better than being cooped up in an office.

    1st page of the running article was interesting…let you know when I finish.

    Poker tourney Saturday night after work and then a 12.5 mile run Sunday(which you already knew about 🙂

  6. April 30, 2010 10:36 pm

    I would love to have an outdoor job. Or just time to sit and work on my computer outdoors! I am pretty jealous Erin!

  7. May 1, 2010 5:54 am

    Great post on travel eat love!

  8. May 1, 2010 2:19 pm

    That picture is just too perfect… except I do struggle to see the screen when I take my laptop outside!

  9. foodlovingpolarbear permalink
    May 2, 2010 12:29 pm

    Hi, I’ve been reading your blog for a while and I like it a lot 🙂 travelling is what makes my world a happy place and I try to do it as much as possible.

  10. ruth permalink
    May 2, 2010 10:41 pm

    looooove the shoes and bag…oh, marshall’s, where art thou? i decided to step out and buy a non-black or brown skirt, and went with a blue jersey-knit one. now i know why i never buy any other colors…what can i match it with????? sigh.

  11. May 3, 2010 5:10 am

    The flexibility of being able to work from your laptop – anywhere, anytime – is worth so much. As you said, outside, coffee shop … or pub, whatever works!

  12. May 3, 2010 7:39 am

    Maybe you can find a job where you get to work from home a bit! My job lets people work from home one day a week. (It is a gov’t job – most gov’t jobs are like this).

    I need to come back and re-read that running article when I have time. I only got through the first page and have to get off the train and go to work soon. However, I think a lot of elite running IS natural talent! I think everyone has a set point with running.

  13. May 6, 2010 8:49 am

    Thanks for the article on marathon running I really enjoyed it. There’s some good tips in there I will or have been trying to employ in my runs now.

  14. May 21, 2010 1:34 am

    I can see the fun side, but I must say that I hated working from home. I was in the office 24/7 and there was no escaping the constant ‘voice’ of the laptop taunting me that lesson plans and course materials still needed writing, even though I was 4-6 weeks in advance of the actual thing. Had I been able to leave it all behind in an office, I would probably have been able to switch off and found some way to enjoy my time teaching instead of spending every second wishing I was somewhere else and waking every morning fretting…=(

    Different strokes for different folks, huh?=)

Leave a Reply

