Skip to content

Sangria, nachos and the History Channel

April 27, 2010

Nothing says “wild and crazy party” like downing a few cups of homemade sangria and watching a History Channel documentary about the beginnings of America.

Maybe it’s just a sign we’re getting old. But seriously, “The Story of Us” on History Channel really sucked us in, even with its over-the-top graphics. It also confirmed the fact that men in the 1700s were not attractive–or, at least, none of the leaders of the American Revolution were. 😉

When good food and great friends are thrown together, it really doesn’t matter what the activity is and a potluck dinner party is always a fun way to hang out with friends and enjoy delicious food on a budget.

Lauren, Simone, me, Zoe and Allie

My contribution was an easy white bean salad:

Stir together two cans of white beans, one large red pepper, one large green pepper, half a yellow onion, 6 tablespoons of red wine vinegar and 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil. Garnish with some fresh cilantro leaves and, voila, a simple summer salad. :mrgreen:

It’s actually not even fair to call this a potluck, though, because Lauren always goes all out when she has people over for dinner. And to think she was worried about not having enough food!

There were two kinds of chicken, which made the apartment smell phenomenal. My dish favorite was these delicious wrapped asparagus and carrots — it was like a little asparagus breadstick. Yum!

I definitely lost track of how many I ate. So good.

Potato nachos = roasted potatoes topped with cheese, a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of chives.

Zoe made ambrosia salad, which is something I always associate with an old ladies’ garden party but actually tastes delicious. You can’t really go wrong with a dessert that has shredded coconut mixed in.

And then, for the grand finale, mini chocolate molten lava cake.

Usually, I wake up in the morning and need to eat within 30 minutes or my stomach starts making embarrassing noises. But the morning after this feast? I was good to go for about an hour before the Hunger Monster made his attack. 😉

I was having lunch with a few newer friends recently and they were surprised that I’m still so close with my best friends from college. Of course I am — isn’t that the point of being best friends, to stay friends for longer than a few semesters?! :mrgreen:

Are you still friends with your college friends?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 12:56 pm

    I love sangria! Perfect summer drink, uh, minus the sugar. but alcohol doesn’t have any calories, right? 😉

    I love the potato nachos too. I worked at this Irish restaurant years ago and they had Irish Nachos. They lined a bowl with ranch, topped with fried cubed potatoes, cheese, bacon and molted it together in the oven, then topped it with more cheese, jalapenos, tomatoes and another side of ranch. It was like heaven on a plate. I’ve tried recreating a healthy version of this, but even that wasn’t so healthy.

  2. jane permalink
    April 27, 2010 1:30 pm

    I just reconnected with a college friend via Facebook after many years…and she is still the same….we crack each other up….we were always doing crazy things together. We talk about fitness now…the only thing on the minds of most 40 yr. women:)

    • April 27, 2010 1:57 pm

      It’s great catching up with old friends when you realize that nothing changes even after years and years.

  3. April 27, 2010 2:15 pm

    I went to a community college so I didn’t make too many college friends.

    Not having to live there makes people pretty much show up to class, be friendly during, and then leave, myself included. I do still talk to one girl through the magic of Facebook though!

  4. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    April 27, 2010 5:45 pm

    I’m trying to make college friends! combo of sangria and the history channel: excellent

  5. April 27, 2010 5:57 pm

    Glad that you like the History Channel as I work for them!

    I don’t really keep in touch with too many college friends anymore…interesting how we grew apart. But then again I was never very close with people at school when I had so many friends outside of school!

    • April 27, 2010 10:38 pm

      History Channel should be happy to know they had at least 6 girls in the 18-24 age bracket watching Sunday night. 😉

  6. April 27, 2010 6:29 pm

    Gosh, I really think we could be friends. Seriously, a white bean salad AND sangria. Literally 2 of the greatest things… I have a friend driving two hours tomorrow just to have a sangria night!

  7. April 27, 2010 7:06 pm

    Aww, y’all are all beautiful!

    My best friends are all girls I went to high school or college with. It’s so great when you have the same group of girls around who have seen you through thick and thin!

  8. April 27, 2010 8:54 pm

    I’m actually not really friends with my college friends. I went to college in Vermont and pretty much no one lives in Georgia like I do, so we sort of lost touch.

    I’m still friends with some high school friends though.

    • April 27, 2010 10:38 pm

      It’s definitely harder if you don’t live in the same area anymore…

  9. April 27, 2010 11:11 pm

    Oh my goodness chocolate molten cake is my downfall in life. YUM

    Your pot luck eats look wonderful!

    I am very close to my good college friends!

  10. ruth permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:26 am

    do you have a recipe for sangria? my apologies if you’ve already posted it somewhere! props to your friend for making such beautiful and wonderful food!!

  11. April 28, 2010 6:19 am

    That bean salad you brought looks great!

  12. April 28, 2010 7:32 am

    I know your first sentence was supposed to be sarcastic, but actually that DOES sound like an awesome party!

    • April 28, 2010 9:08 am

      Sarcastic and yet… not, because it was a lot of fun! 😉

  13. April 28, 2010 8:35 am

    Love this post! Sadly, I’m not really friends with most of my college friends.

    Dinner looks great!

  14. louisianagrown permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:17 am

    I think girls that love good food and the History Channel are always going to stay friends. You guys have a lot in common! My friends in college are the same girls that I was friends with since KINDERGARTEN, so I don’t see them going away any time soon. 🙂

  15. April 28, 2010 7:10 pm

    Your pictures of the food look like something that belongs in Bon Appetite magazine! Thanks for coming. I love cooking and feeding people.

  16. April 30, 2010 8:23 am

    heck yes. college friends are my core group. i lived, eat, breathed, drank with these ladies 24/7 for four years. You don’t make stronger connections than that and I don’t know what I would do without them!

Trackbacks

  1. More confessions of a food blogger « Travel Eat Repeat
  2. Mindful overeating « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

