Skip to content

Rainy Monday

April 26, 2010

Did anyone else experience crazy storms last night and this morning? Leaving a dinner party last night–more on that later–I made quite a scene running to my car, my glass containers of leftovers clanging together. I was literally 15 feet away from the car when the skies opened up and began throwing down torrents of rain. At least the rain scared off any potential muggers waiting for me in the dark parking lot. πŸ˜‰

The drive home was an adventure as it was impossible to see the lane markings on the highway. Whew! The insanely huge lightning bolts actually helped by making the roads less inky.

The storm is over now, though, and the air smells fresh and clean.

There’s just something rejuvenating about breathing in post-storm air, the way it fills your lungs with its earthy scent. As much as I complain about the rain sometimes, I try to remember that it’s part of the Earth, too, as we celebrated Earth Day last week.

It’s a shower for the plants, washing everything clean. And a much-needed bath for my car. πŸ˜‰

Rain actually isn’t so bad when you work from home and can do your day’s chores wearing comfortable sweatpants, drinking tea and not having to venture outside at all.

What goes great with tea? Mint chocolate chip ice cream!Β  Remember when I was hoping some would magically appear in my fridge? It did! A huge bowl of ice cream = awesome Monday afternoon snack. :mrgreen:

Mondays get such a bad rap but really, they aren’t so bad. Leftover energy from the weekend, a chance to start the week on a good foot–I’ll take a Monday over a Wednesday any week!

What are you looking forward to this week? I’m going to a cool benefit at the Newseum tomorrow night that I’m pretty excited for.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 1:35 pm

    I’m going to a Cirque show this week! I’ve never been before. I’m pretty excited. πŸ™‚

  2. Carolyn @ lovinlosing.com permalink
    April 26, 2010 1:41 pm

    Not much going on this week, but next Friday I’m going to Florida to visit my mom! Can’t wait. πŸ™‚

    • April 26, 2010 1:57 pm

      Nice time to get down there, too. Hope to see some sunny pics. πŸ˜€

  3. April 26, 2010 2:43 pm

    Ugh– it’s been raining for three days straight here! Lovely pictures!

  4. Shari permalink
    April 26, 2010 3:43 pm

    The benefit sounds great!! Who am I kidding, though? Any event at the Newseum sounds great! πŸ˜‰

    • April 26, 2010 3:47 pm

      Have you been to the Newseum yet?

      • Shari permalink
        April 26, 2010 5:52 pm

        I haven’t, but I would REALLY love to go sometime soon. It seems like a fascinating place!

  5. April 26, 2010 6:14 pm

    No rain here today but we got a ton of it on Saturday. Have fun at the Newseum. I went last winter. It was fun.

  6. April 26, 2010 7:51 pm

    Good for you for seeing the greatness in Mondays. I personally would rather have a Wednesday just because it’s closer to Friday! However, my fiance and I do like Monday night TV, if that counts as optimism.
    Yikes on the storms! I’m guessing we will get them eventually although they kept saying it’s going to rain here and it has yet to happen.

  7. April 26, 2010 8:40 pm

    It rained all day here today and I keep forgetting my umbrella. Boo 😦
    But you are SO right about the wonderful fresh smell of the earth afterwards. Me likes.

    Have a good week!

  8. April 26, 2010 9:30 pm

    Looks like we’re getting rain the next 2 days 😦 I agree it’s not fun at all when it’s raining that hard you can’t see the road markings. Glad you got home fine!

  9. April 26, 2010 9:31 pm

    It has definitely been a rainy Monday.

    I’m looking forward to watching my nieces and nephews again this week. My nieces are 6 yrs and 6 mths old and my nephews are 4 yrs and 6 mths old. Yup, adorable kids and twin babies. So cute!

  10. April 26, 2010 11:23 pm

    mint choc ice cream = yum!

    great pics too!

  11. April 27, 2010 6:41 am

    I do love my job so it’s nice to usually look forward to the week as well as the weekend! πŸ™‚

  12. Lindsey permalink
    April 27, 2010 10:23 am

    I sooooo agree about Mondays! They always go by fast (plus) and like you said – a little bit of good energy leftover from the weekend (another plus). Wednesdays hurt way worse!

  13. April 28, 2010 12:09 pm

    Oooh, we’ve had rain finally too! Good thing–the air was positively gritty, my plants were thirsty, and the car needed a bit of de-dusting too. I never appreciated rain (frizz-making and all) as much as I do now. Having a dry season will do that to a girl, I guess….

    I totally agree with Lindsey! Wednesdays just draaaaaaag… I know I’m late catching up, but I’m beyond excited for Friday, which is my last day of office job! I need to watch myself and not go “Later and thanks for nuttin’, suckaaazzz” as I exit the building.

Leave a Reply

