Skip to content

It’s what’s on the inside that counts

April 23, 2010

A few days before moving to Korea, I got a fortune cookie predicting that I would “soon receive a great reward.”

Now, the only “reward” I got in Korea was a monthly paycheck (and, you know, the joy of educating children) but that doesn’t mean I don’t still crack open a fortune cookie after polishing off a bowl of lo mein and hope to get a nice message inside.

Please let it say I’m going to discover that a wealthy European relative has left his fortune to me, or that Travel Channel will soon come calling, or that mint chocolate chip ice cream has appeared in the freezer.

Hmmm…

Well, I guess if you have a happy outlook on life, you’re naturally more happy. And the same is true in reverse.

Still, not exactly what I was looking for.

Maybe we should all make our own fortune cookies. The recipe is so deceptively easy (3 egg whites, 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar, 1.5 oz unsalted butter, 1/2 cup flour) but somehow I don’t think it will turn out quite up to Chinese restaurant standards. Some things are better left to the experts. 

Have you ever gotten a memorable fortune? And, eat the cookie or throw it away? I actually like the taste of fortune cookies. We have a bunch leftover from dinner last week that I’ve been slowly eating my way through.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 1:06 pm

    I love fortune cookies, but I’ve never had one that was very profound. I always eat the cookie. You have to eat it BEFORE you read the fortune or else it doesn’t count. That’s what I’ve always heard.

  2. Shari permalink
    April 23, 2010 1:10 pm

    I LOVE fortune cookies (okay, that may be partially due to my book, but still)! I think the most amusing one I ever got mentioned something about athletic prowess, which I just had to save because it was SO FAR off base. I’ve gotten a lot like yours, too, about happiness/dreams/etc. I love them! 🙂

  3. April 23, 2010 1:37 pm

    I have found that they taste alright, but my stomach can’t handle the Chinese food that comes before them! So I don’t ever eat them.

    I have a fortune taped to my desk that reads “your whole family is well.” I like looking at it in times of uncertainty.

  4. April 23, 2010 2:21 pm

    I don’t keep the fortunes but always get a kick out of reading them!

  5. April 23, 2010 5:56 pm

    I keep looking for that fortune cooking telling me a distant relative has left me a large sum of money too! Wouldn’t that just be great! But the fortune you got was a good one! 😉

  6. Gretchen permalink
    April 23, 2010 7:06 pm

    I don’t eat the cookies, but I once got a fortune that said, “Bury your unworkable dreams. Or they will surely bury you.” I read it and immediately said, “That’s not a fortune! That’s pessimism in a cookie!” because really now, how depressing.

  7. April 23, 2010 11:02 pm

    I don’t really like Chinese food but I love fortune cookies and the fortunes (Duh Caronae). I think they’re just neat little momentary philosophical tidbits, ya know? Sometimes I save them if I think they’re extra special. I really like the one you got! It speaks to me, I guess 🙂

    Happy weekend!

  8. April 24, 2010 6:42 am

    Some of my most memorable fortunes are the ones that are mildly insulting 🙂

    • April 24, 2010 7:07 am

      Example?

      My sister got one that ordered her to spend more time with family, which was pretty appropriate. 😉

  9. April 24, 2010 9:45 am

    I think I got the same exact fortune once haha. Didn’t fully get it to be honest. I’d love to make my own fortune cookies.

    So about that youtube video you sent me- if I had thought of that first I totally would’ve done it haha

  10. Susan permalink
    April 24, 2010 5:19 pm

    Fortune cookies make me so mad because they are never “fortunes” haha! I guess I should get over it.

  11. Lynn permalink
    April 24, 2010 9:29 pm

    I once broke open four cookies in a row (at a Chinese place in California) and found ZERO fortunes inside. I found that rather disturbing! lol

  12. April 24, 2010 9:43 pm

    We save our good fortunes. My husband even insists he knows which fortune goes to which person depending on how they were placed on the table… we have a lot of inside jokes about fortune cookies.

  13. April 26, 2010 11:25 pm

    Oh I ALWAYS eat the cookie!

  14. angi permalink
    May 3, 2010 2:19 am

    I tried making fortune cookies with one of my classes a couple years ago (it was hilarious the fortunes they came up with to put inside!), but they were a COMPLETE disaster! Not nearly as easy as it looks, and I usually can manage to bake anything.

Trackbacks

  1. Rainy Monday «

Leave a Reply

