Skip to content

Getting into the Earth Week spirit

April 19, 2010

It’s Earth Week! Who’s excited?

Okay, so maybe Earth Week doesn’t really inspire the same excitement as Earth Day (April 22 — mark it down!). This year is the 40th anniversary of Earth Day and thanks to growing awareness about the environment, climate change and conservation, the celebration just keeps getting bigger and better year after year.

Sunday is the big climate rally on the National Mall here in DC — lots of cool speakers and music from artists like John Legend, Sting, Joss Stone and Robert Randolph. Nothing like a free concert to get you pumped about saving the earth. 😉

Whether it’s participating in a community project or just clipping bushes in my own backyard, I want to do something on Thursday. Some cities are having a Lug-A-Mug campaign, an easy way to prevent one more cup from going into a landfill by simply bringing your own reusable mug to Starbucks, Panera or wherever you get coffee. A lot of these places even give a discount when you bring your own mug!

Saving money and the environment? That’s something I can support! 😀

Because I’m a terrible advance planner (slash a total Type A planner who didn’t put this great holiday on her calendar soon enough), my Saturday is already booked-up without any time to go to one of the cool Earth Day festivals happenings around town that day. Environmentalist fail.

Memo to self: Put cool festivals on your calendar ahead of time. Smithsonian Folklife Festival, Screen on the Green, National Book Festival, Passport DC, Virginia Wine Festival — don’t miss out this year, Erin!

Are you planning to participate in Earth Day?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 3:43 pm

    I love the pretty flower pictures 🙂 I’m not sure what I’ll do for Earth Day. I did some stuff with my kindergarten kiddos before we left for vacation trying to get them pumped up about earth day. I figure they are the future…and nice and impressionable now haha

  2. April 19, 2010 7:52 pm

    Wow– beautiful pictures! I just love spring 🙂

  3. April 19, 2010 10:53 pm

    I’m planting more vegetables! :~) Actually, that’s not specifically in honor of Earth Day, but it reminds me of my middle school days (more than a decade ago): each class would plant a tree on Earth Day around our school campus. It’s a tradition I hope to pass on someday.

  4. April 19, 2010 11:05 pm

    Does golfing count as an Earth Day activity? That’s the plan so far 🙂 I do my part by reusing 2 old water bottles and filling up at my customers everyday.

  5. April 20, 2010 7:05 am

    We just watched “No Impact Man” to learn about more ways we could reduce our energy impact!

  6. April 20, 2010 9:12 am

    I just loved seeing the beautiful photos! Nothing better than nature and spring flowers. I’m not planning to do any Earth Day activities because of the move to Seattle making me crazy, but I am more mindful of helping the environment lately. Every little bit counts, right?

    Have a lovely day!!

  7. prettytimepiece permalink
    April 20, 2010 1:04 pm

    beautiful pictures! 🙂

    i’m with you on blanking out on stuff that i don’t pencil in somewhere [usually on my hand, or in the corners of my journal pages. not so Type A]. thanks for the Earth Day reminder! i’m planning on continuing to enjoy getting outside again. running. stopping & smelling zee roses 😉

    http://www.prettytimepiece.org

  8. April 20, 2010 1:22 pm

    I hadn’t even heard about the climate rally, but that sounds amazing, I’ll be sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

