Skip to content

Waffles, Waffles, Everywhere at Mosaic Cuisine

April 18, 2010

Isn’t it funny how the best-laid plans can fall apart at the last minute? Today was originally going to be an active hiking day but when the forecast called for highs of 50 with 20 mph winds, we decided to reschedule.

Not a problem. After a fantastic church service — we’re in the middle of a series on finding your calling that really speaks to me as my life completely shifts direction — my mom and I had brunch at Mosaic Cuisine & Cafe, one of our favorite local restaurants. If you live in DC’s Maryland suburbs, brunch at this Rockville eatery is a must.

Belgian waffles feature heavily on the menu — order a salad, sandwich or soup and you’ll get a waffle on the side. You can also, of course, just order a sweet or savory waffle. I haven’t had a true Belgian waffle with all the fixings since the amazing ice cream and fruit-topped waffles we used to get in Korea so I’m definitely going to need to visit Mosaic again soon just to get one of those.

Today, though, it was all about brunch. And that means… a huge mug of cafe au lait.

It’s been really gray and cloudy all day so this was definitely necessary. I’m actually already dragging a little bit now so green tea will probably make an appearance soon. πŸ˜€

Usually I love the Mosaic Omelette, stuffed with spinach and tomatoes, but today was a lunch kinda day.

First up, a rich, flavorful cup of soup: “lightly curried sweet potato laced with maple syrup.” With half a waffle on the side, natch.

This was so spectacular that I want to recreate it at home ASAP. Really strong flavors without being too heavy at all.

Waffles are great for dipping because you can fill each indentation with yummy soup. These waffles are especially light and airy.

I followed the soup with the grilled vegetable salad, served with feta and balsamic dressing.

Even more waffles! Yum! πŸ˜€

It had delicious roasted zucchini and carrots but I wanted more roasted veggies and less lettuce. Absolutely filling and scrumptious, though. I’m just now starting to get hungry for dinner and it’s been five hours, which is a long time for me without a meal or snack!

I also witnessed a really great moment in customer service here. Two crotchety old men sat at the table next to us and were loudly consulting the menu. One man mentioned that he’s on a diet and pulled aside a woman who I think is the owner to tell her exactly what he wanted for lunch: 6 ounces of a protein and 3 ounces of vegetable.

Instead of pointing to something on the menu — a salad, maybe — that would meet his specifications, she said that was absolutely possible and brought over a cook to explain exactly what the man wanted. They decided on six ounces of salmon and three ounces of roasted vegetables.

He was happy to have a diet-friendly meal, she was happy to have content customers and I was happy to be in such a pleasant atmosphere.

Do you enjoy a special lunch or brunch on Sundays?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    April 18, 2010 5:40 pm

    That is such a cute story! I love how it shows that people CARE. Too many people have really stopped caring.

    I do take advantage of not having to be somewhere in the morning (aka class) on sundays to make a nice breakfast. In this case I had 3 this morning πŸ˜‰

  2. April 18, 2010 7:51 pm

    I had lunch at Mosaic yesterday! Too funny. Love those waffles.

  3. April 18, 2010 9:06 pm

    I did make a special lunch today…my first attempt at risotto! And it was wonderful!
    I’ve got to note down every DC place you visit…I’ve got my eye on this one! My church is in Rockville!

    • April 19, 2010 12:03 pm

      I grew up near Rockville so know lots of places in that area — and, of course, downtown. Let me know! πŸ˜€

  4. April 18, 2010 9:26 pm

    u know my hubby had never had waffles till last year. i couldnt believe it! how could he have never had a waffle. needless to say i beelined to bedbathandbeyond, bought a waffle maker and righted that wrong!

  5. Kristin permalink
    April 18, 2010 9:28 pm

    Random, but… The beginning of your blog reminds me of the unit I just taught my 9th-grade students! We studied the book Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck, and the title comes from the poem “To a Mouse” by Robert Burns in 1785.

    “The best-laid schemes o’ mice an ‘men
    Gang aft agley”

    …Which means, “the best-laid plans of mice and men often go awry,” and he is talking to a mouse who lost her nest after he ran over it with a plough.

    Very random, I know, and maybe you already knew all that, but I had to share my English teacher thoughts! πŸ˜€

    http://www.robertburns.org/works/75.shtml

    • April 19, 2010 12:01 pm

      I think that’s of those things I “knew” but didn’t know. haha

      Random right back at you: Never read Of Mice and Men but I *did* see the opera of it. That’s right, OPERA. Um… interesting? πŸ˜‰

  6. ruth permalink
    April 18, 2010 10:44 pm

    LOVED how the woman took the guy seriously and actually helped him get what he needed!

  7. April 18, 2010 11:10 pm

    We had the same temps and wind but it was a bright sunny day. We also crazily went ahead and golfed in it.
    Never have had a special Sunday lunch/brunch.

  8. April 19, 2010 12:48 am

    waffles in the salad – now that is great!

    I love that the owner was so nice to that man – wow great service does exsist – over at Mosaic!

    and big cups of coffee always go great with dreary weather!

  9. April 19, 2010 3:42 am

    I am definitely hitting up this restaurant the next time I am in DC. Waffles that look as good as those are worth the gluten! πŸ™‚

    Just read your last post…I love Little House on the Prairie and The Babysitter’s Club. I mean I read every single book in both series! Oh the good old days. πŸ™‚

    • April 19, 2010 12:02 pm

      Ooh, I can recommend tons of great breakfast/brunch places! πŸ˜€

  10. April 19, 2010 6:01 am

    Sounds like a very pleasant atmosphere indeed! And any place where you get waffles as a side with your salad is alright by me πŸ™‚

  11. April 19, 2010 9:23 am

    I go to my in-laws every sunday for brunch. The food is always good (it’s always the same) and the conversation is dynamic, to say the least.

  12. April 19, 2010 10:56 am

    I would love to be able to have some kind of ritual where I have a nice brunch on Sundays. I try to limit how much I eat out, however, and Sundays are also my favorite days to swim at the pool.

  13. April 20, 2010 7:20 pm

    I think I’ve seen that place but never been. Is it near REI?

Trackbacks

  1. A weekend of good eats « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

