Skip to content

Traveling homebodies

April 9, 2010

I like this Tweet my friend Lauren sent yesterday:

How true! Living out of a duffel bag for two months was not always fun. It’s much nicer to settle down somewhere, be able to unpack and have that sense of “home base” while exploring a new country or city. Living in Korea for a year wasn’t as jarring as it could have been mostly because at the end of the day, I had my own (teensy tiny) apartment to come home to. A little sanity in the middle of a huge city.

I spent most of yesterday afternoon walking around the city, enjoying the warm sun and fresh air. If you could have magically subtracted the thousands upon thousands of tourists (spring break + National Cherry Blossom Festival = pandemonium) it would have been incredibly peaceful. It’s easy to forget the monuments are there and suddenly you walk around a corner, look up and…

This is the first time in five or six years that I haven’t had any upcoming travel plans. It’s a little strange to think that I’ll probably be here for at least the next year. But… it’s also kind of nice. I’m excited to find an apartment, unpack all of the boxes that have been in my parents’ basements for years and actually decorate a place that’s mine.

The thing I’m most looking forward to is living downtown. There’s so much more at your fingertips when you’re living in a city vs. the suburbs. Not having to rely on a car, being able to walk most places, taking advantage of all the free activities, classes and events happening downtown. Not to mention all the city-dwelling friends who will be way more accessible now!

Also, I’ve been in an intense baking mood recently. Specifically muffins, although I haven’t made them in a LONG time.  Anyone have a delicious muffin recipe to share?

Like honey? Win some!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 9:28 am

    I am definitely a traveling homebody- I’ve never heard it said that way but I love it. I felt the same way in Australia because I had my home base, but when I left my home base for too long I’d miss my “home.”

    I’ve never actually lived downtown in a city. I’m sure I’d love it but it just has never been the right time. I’m excited to read about your adventures!

  2. April 9, 2010 1:33 pm

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Mimis-Giant-Whole-Wheat-Banana-Strawberry-Muffins/Detail.aspx

    This is a great recipe for muffins, I use less sugar and all organic ingredients. Super yummy!

  3. April 9, 2010 10:25 pm

    I’ve been baking these banana muffins all the time because it’s just so EASY. Everything in one bowl! http://www.herbivoracious.com/2010/03/onebowl-banana-muffins-great-for-baking-with-kids-recipe.html

    Ah, I miss the Cherry Blossom season in DC!

  4. April 10, 2010 6:26 am

    I know that feeling all too well of continuously packing and unpacking – hope you enjoy your time in the city!

  5. April 11, 2010 10:05 am

    It can be soooo peaceful to have a nice little home base to come back to. Can’t wait to hear about how you make your new place “yours”! Happy Sunday 🙂

Leave a Reply

