Skip to content

Long day’s journey into night

April 7, 2010

36 hours.

That’s how long it took from waking up at 3 am in Auckland to falling asleep last night in Maryland.

36 hours of being awake.

4 flights in 3 countries.

26 total hours spent in-air.

10 hours spent on transport to and from the airport and layovers.

3 random airport security checks.

1 sympathetic security guard who laughed at the ridiculousness of another agent flagging my carry-on because it had a small pot of yogurt.

6 in-flight movies.

2 bottles of Diet Coke.

2 almost-inedible airplane meals. (Thank you, United Airlines, for serving me a congealed grey mass that I think was scrambled eggs and beans as the vegetarian breakfast option, then giving out fruit plates as the “regular” breakfast. Seriously?)

1 delicious plate of Mexican goodness, courtesy of Baja Fresh and LAX.

0 jet lag. Went to bed at just past 11 pm and woke up to a bright, shining sun at 8 am.

Also… you’re welcome. I totally brought summer back to the East Coast with me. It’s 90 degrees here today! 90! In April! Since the idea of spending any time sitting down sounds painful after yesterday’s 40-hour Tuesday, I’m off for a long walk, lunch at Lebanese Taverna (where I go every time I leave or come back from abroad), sneakers shopping and a trip to the library.

I know, life is so exciting and glamorous back in the good ol’ USA.

What’s the longest plane trip/trips you’ve ever been on? How do you deal with jet lag?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    April 7, 2010 9:20 am

    Welcome home!

  2. April 7, 2010 12:56 pm

    Wow, what a crazy trip you had!

    Everyone keeps talking about this baja fresh….I have to know more about it? It is healthy fast food??

    XXOO

    • April 7, 2010 2:59 pm

      It’s healthy-ish fast food Mexican — order at a counter, they prepare the food in front of you. Can be totally unhealthy (like the lady next to me who got burrito w/ just steak & cheese inside) but also lots of fresh veggies and salsas.

  3. April 7, 2010 1:19 pm

    Welcome home! I wonder if my sister was on your flight from Sydney to LAX yesterday?
    My longest flight ever? 33 hours from Maui to Buenos Aires. 5 layovers, 3 straight hours of major turbulence and I lost my luggage somewhere between Altanta and Miami. Fun times!
    Anyway, Happy to hear it’s summer on the Mainland:-) ALoha!

  4. simone permalink
    April 7, 2010 1:28 pm

    WELCOME back!!!! so excited youre finally back on american soil! what movies did you end up watching? after 6 i think theyd all start to blend together….

  5. April 7, 2010 2:15 pm

    My longest trip was flying to London. I went from Portland to Cincinnati to London. It was BRUTAL and I’d never experience jet lag before. I was able to shake it off while I was in London because I was so excited to see things. The jet lag kicked in when I got back to the states and I was sleeping 16 hours a night!

  6. April 7, 2010 3:37 pm

    Welcome back Erin….what a crazy journey! The longest flight I’ve taken is to India and back which is a 24 hour+ nightmare. One thing I’ve learned is to NEVER order a special meal because they are just horrible. I always just take my chances with the regular meals and eat a little bit of salad, etc.

  7. April 7, 2010 4:10 pm

    Forty hours, door to door from the guesthouse in Hanoi to my house in Kingston. A canceled flights, 10 hours in the airport, a pass to the business class lounge (courtesy of an employee who pitied me) and one last stone pot of dolsat bibimbap.

    My India flight gives me a 13-hour layover in Dubai…playtime!

  8. April 7, 2010 7:48 pm

    A post like that makes me want to avoid going Down Under. That’s crazy!

  9. April 7, 2010 9:36 pm

    I go to Lebanese Taverna every time I come to Maryland!

    Ugh, 36 hours. I can’t imagine. Hope you get re-acclimated soon.

  10. April 8, 2010 5:50 pm

    Hi Erin! So glad you got home safely. I had a great time reading about your Australia/NZ travels, looks like so much fun. I’d love to visit there one day! I cannot begin to imagine a 36 hour trip, yuck. The longest I’ve been on was NC to Sweden, but I was only 4 years old. Longest one in memory… about a 6 hour total trip from Lynchburg to Tampa, FL. It was a horrible experience and I don’t look forward to flying again!

Leave a Reply

