Skip to content

It’s the end of the road

April 4, 2010

Rotorua, New Zealand:

Well… we’ve made it. This is my last post from Down Under. 😦 Early tomorrow morning, I began the long journey back to America: Auckland -> Melbourne -> Sydney -> Los Angeles -> DC.

See the kind of flights you get as a budget traveler? Not so glamorous, eh?

This has been an incredible trip from beginning to end.

Starting way back with that first market meal in Melbourne…

a drive along the Great Ocean Road

Finding beauty in Sydney

and moving up the coast through Byron Bay and Brisbane.

Two fabulous trips to the islands. First, Fraser Island

and then the Whitsundays

before spending a few days in Cairns.

Down to New Zealand, where Christchurch stole my heart

I hiked a LOT in Queenstown

and enjoyed old-fashioned Dunedin.

Sunset in Paihia

underground tubing in Waitomo Caves and completing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing

and now today, I’m waking up in Rotorua to the stench of sulphur springs (you can’t smell it in the hotel, thankfully!) and the prospect of heading back to Auckland this afternoon.

It’s a total cliche but… time flies.

I’ve started getting organized and prepared for the next chapter, the real entrance into adulthood since leaving university. No trips planned, no random jobs around the world, just (probably) your typical 9-5 with a few freelance writing gigs thrown in. Need a freelance writer/editor? 😀 Job-hunting, apartment-hunting — all underway.

Oh, and as a final thought from New Zealand:

This is why you’re fat.

Thank you guys (and girls!) so much for reading, commenting and being supportive over the past two months. I’m excited to see what happens in the next chapter and hope you come along for the ride! 😀

No post tomorrow but check back later this week for my very first giveaway, direct from New Zealand to you.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Shari permalink
    April 4, 2010 2:25 pm

    It’s seriously beyond crazy to me to think that you’re already about to head home. It honestly seems like you just left!! I know I don’t have to tell YOU that, though! For as much as time has flown, I am so glad that you’ve had such a special and wonderful trip. It’s easy to tell that the memories will stay with you forever. Thank you for giving us all the chance to live vicariously through you and experience Australia through your descriptive words and beautiful pictures.

    Safe trip back home!!

  2. April 4, 2010 5:10 pm

    Sounds like your trip was beyond great!

  3. April 4, 2010 5:13 pm

    I’ve been living vicariously through you Erin…what a great opportunity you’ve had! I have always wanted to get to Australia and now I feel like I have!

    Enjoy your flight home and the process of establishing yourself. It really isn’t that bad!!

    Safe travels!

  4. April 4, 2010 5:17 pm

    Good luck with everything, can’t wait for the giveaway!

  5. April 4, 2010 6:23 pm

    Safe travels home.

  6. April 4, 2010 7:31 pm

    Whoa…those photos!! I can’t even imagine what an amazing time you had 🙂 Hope you have a good trip back home!

  7. Susan permalink
    April 4, 2010 8:40 pm

    It’s been awesome living vicariously through you this past month. I’m glad the experience has been so amazing.

    Have safe travels!

  8. April 4, 2010 8:47 pm

    Coming home after a long trip is bittersweet. It’s nice to be home, but it’s sad that you’re no longer travelling.

  9. April 4, 2010 11:00 pm

    Hi – I came across your blog towards the end of your trip, but I’ve enjoyed reading about your adventures! Have a safe trip home!

  10. April 5, 2010 12:03 am

    Ok I love your travel pics and I am glad you have had a wonderful trip! Cant wait for the give away!

    Good look with all the hunting (job, apt…) fun stuff…and exciting because who knows what will come?!

  11. April 5, 2010 6:49 am

    Well, thank YOU for sharing your wonderful trip with us. I have to admt that I loved the NZ adventures the most as I pine to travel there. Good luck….with the rest of your life plans. I can’t wait to continue this life journey with you.

  12. April 6, 2010 10:19 am

    I can’t believe it’s been two months already! Crazy! Have a safe trip back home!

  13. simone permalink
    April 7, 2010 1:30 pm

    no zorbing??????

  14. April 9, 2010 6:35 am

    I love the recap! What an amazing journey. Thanks for taking us on it, and welcome home!!!

    And ew (to the last pic)!

Leave a Reply

