Skip to content

Sheep shaggers

April 1, 2010

Waitomo Caves, New Zealand:

It’s funny how much this area resembles rural America.

You can drive for miles and not come upon a soul, then blow through a 4-building town. Easy to see how there are more sheep than people — 40 million sheep, 4.25 million people. No wonder the Aussies call Kiwis “sheep shaggers.” 😉 Joke, joke!

Waking up for an early latte at the Bay of Islands, I was rewarded with another gorgeous sunrise. There’s something incredible about watching the sun rise and set over the water.

Isn’t it lovely?

Then it was up and out for a 7-hour drive from Paihia to Waitomo Caves, where we’re going cave tubing today. I’m not sure how it will compare to the ridiculous scariness of walking through pitch-black caves in Belize and stumbling onto fully-intact skeletons and skulls… but I’m always up for some fun! 😀

Before dinner, we took a short bushwalk through the cave network and my dad couldn’t resist squeezing into a cave.

Yea, that just looks uncomfortable. 😉

The caves we’re going through are pretty cavernous but I’m not sure what, if any, pictures I’ll be able to get in that light and with water. Isn’t that what Google Images is for?

Time for breakfast, coffee and heading out!

Did anyone pull an April’s Fools joke yesterday? Or get tricked? I totally forgot about it until reading peoples’ Twitter feeds just now!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 7:49 pm

    I love nice sunrises! That one is beautiful. I have always wanted to go spelunking! I love outdoorsy exploring stuff, but am usually in the city! Have fun!

  2. April 1, 2010 8:26 pm

    My kindergarten kiddos were ALL about tricking me today. Oddly enough I fell for more than one trick. Just a little gullible!

  3. April 2, 2010 8:00 pm

    I’ve been had 3 times now catching up on my blog reading. Obviously this not being AFD I’m an easy target because I keep forgetting about it!

Trackbacks

  1. Tongariro Alpine Exodus «
  2. How you got here «

Leave a Reply

