Skip to content

On the waterfront

March 30, 2010

Paihia, New Zealand:

South Island, meet North Island.

Meeting up with my dad and sister yesterday at the airport without any problems. I think I was actually more tired than they were after their 17-hour flight. Their plane wasn’t full so they each got a full 4-seat section to stretch out in! Versus me, who slept on the floor of Christchurch Airport the before.

Zombie, meet family. πŸ˜‰

It was all good though because we grabbed our rental car and headed north toward the Bay of Islands.

Along the way, we stopped a few times for coffee and lunch. It was so nice being out of the bus and having the freedom to stop and go as we pleased, not on a bus driver’s timetables. Those drivers always love to stop for lunch at 10:30 — what’s up?

I was kicking myself for not bringing my camera into lunch, as it was my first proper meal (i.e., not made in a hostel) in a few weeks: an incredible frittata, packed with veggies and topped with thinly-sliced salmon. It was the size of a small pizza! Mmmm… πŸ˜€

After a few hours, we made it up to Paihia and took a ferry over to historic Russell the afternoon. Tiny Russell, which has about three streets before turning into rugged hills covered with hotels and houses, was the first permanent European settlement in New Zealand and is home to the oldest church in the country, Christ Church.

It was the perfect time of day for a glass of New Zealand wine at one of the country’s oldest pubs, the Duke of Marlborough. Can you tell there’s a lot of history in this little town?

Very relaxing after a long couple of days filled with riding in buses, planes and cars, sleeping on an airplane floor and eating McDonald’s for breakfast. No Sausage McMuffin here, no worries, just a toasted bagel that tasted like a pancake.

Dinner time!

35 Degrees South is right on the water and has gorgeous views of the bay. There’s also a long aquarium running along the wall inside. Unfortunately, I wasn’t very hungry so didn’t order any seafood but started with a yummy carrot, coriander and ginger soup:

followed by a really fresh Greek salad with huge slices of Feta cheese.

Mmmm… vegetables! πŸ˜€

It’s so nice to eat at restaurants again and get some real food but my morning bowl of oats still perfectly hits the spot. πŸ˜€ Not sure what the agenda is — a hike along the water, probably — but at least I’ll eat well.

What’s your favorite vegetable?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 3:13 pm

    Looks delicious! Glad you were able to meet up with your family! Enjoy the last leg of your trip!

  2. March 30, 2010 3:41 pm

    mmm that soup looks good! Thanks for the sunshine award too πŸ™‚

  3. Susan permalink
    March 30, 2010 6:35 pm

    Glad you got to meet up with your dad and sister; even if you were so tired!

    Choosing a favorite veggie would be like choosing a favorite child!

  4. March 30, 2010 8:14 pm

    Wow, the North island looks gorgeous- I wish I saw more than just Auckland.
    My favorite veggie is carrots, definitely! I could probably eat a bag if I wanted to haha.
    I’m glad you are getting to eat some good food in restaurants. Are you staying in a real hotel now too? AH the luxuries πŸ™‚

  5. louisianagrown permalink
    March 30, 2010 8:17 pm

    I love love love small towns with great history. And thanks for the sunshine award!

  6. March 31, 2010 12:19 am

    Enjoy your trip!! I love ALL Veggies : )

  7. March 31, 2010 3:18 am

    I’ve been to that restaurant. Looks like you have MUCH better weather than I did!…Anyway, I had the Falafel Wrap πŸ™‚ Love the Bay of Islands, even if it was 8 degrees C when I was there! lol Aloha πŸ™‚

  8. March 31, 2010 4:13 am

    mmm that looks SO GOOD!! that feta beats my feta in the salad I posted for sureee πŸ™‚ thank you for the bday wishes!!!

    beautiful NZ pics

  9. March 31, 2010 7:42 am

    I love churches. Everytime I travel I have to check out the old churches.
    Something I love even more than churches is cemeteries. Morbid, I know.

  10. Carolyn @ lovinlosing.com permalink
    March 31, 2010 10:50 am

    LOVE that picture of the church. You’ll be able to decorate your whole place with pictures from this trip. πŸ™‚

  11. March 31, 2010 12:31 pm

    fav veggie = broccoli! YUMM!

    Your travels look sooo wonderful I am pretending to be there even though I am in class ! I also love greek salad mmm!

Trackbacks

  1. It’s the end of the road «
  2. There’s no place like home «
  3. End of summer evening «
  4. Around The World With My Birthday Dad « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

