Skip to content

So long, South Island

March 28, 2010

Dunedin, New Zealand:

Is it just me or is 2010 flying by? It’s almost April! In-sane! This morning I’m up and out of Dunedin early, heading back to Christchurch for a few hours and an overnight in the airport before flying to Auckland, on the North Island, tomorrow morning.

Travelers have very strong opinions about whether the North or South island is more beautiful but the one thing people agree on is that both islands are beautiful. Whereas the South is stark and mountainous, the North apparently has more lush forests and better beaches. True or not, I’ll find out soon! 😀

Despite the sun poking out for most of the day, I’ve had such a hard time getting warm lately. I can’t decide if it’s from a month of being spoiled by Australia’s summer or if it’s cold to me and cold to Dunedin residents means something different. I shivered my way through the afternoon in a skirt and cardigan while seeing girls rocking short-shorts and tank tops.

During my daily wanderings — there’s no better way to explore a new city than to aimlessly meander around town — I stumbled upon the Southern Cemetery. Sitting on top of a hill, it has great views of the city and surrounding countryside. The graves date back to the early 19th-century and it was sad to see what a state of disrepair many are in.

Fallen over tombstones, cracked statues, branches and dead flowers strewn around. The cemetery is a historical landmark in Dunedin but has been seemingly forgotten about. It was peaceful to walk around, though, as you can imagine a cemetery would be.

And check out that sky!

It’s the kind of blue that encourages lying in the grass and staring straight into the sky for an hour or two.

It’s also the kind of blue that makes you want to soar around the heavens. Sky diving, anyone?

Oh, and I stopped by the Dunedin downtown market and picked up something local for my very first giveaway. But you’ll have to wait until next week for that to be announced. 😉

Have you ever gone sky diving? Would you? I’m too scared, despite all the AMAZING things I’ve heard!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    March 28, 2010 12:54 pm

    See you soon!

  2. March 28, 2010 2:22 pm

    :)! 2010 is FLYING by! I am glad you are having a blast! I think I am going to wait till I am 80 to go skydiving. I wanna go out with a bang!

  3. March 28, 2010 3:43 pm

    Just came across your blog! I’ve always wanted to go skydiving too, but am super scared!!! I really want to do it though. PS I love the oatmeal bumper sticker!

  4. March 29, 2010 5:34 pm

    I’ve thought of doing it but not at the weight I’ve been. Maybe I need to make that my reward when I reach my goal weight?

Leave a Reply

