Skip to content

World’s steepest street

March 26, 2010

Dunedin, New Zealand:

San Francisco, eat your heart out.

Yep, wee Dunedin, the oldest town in New Zealand, also has the world’s steepest street.

It doesn’t look like much but I promise you, climbing up (and then making your way down) this street is a chore and a half. It was almost worse going down as my legs wanted to move faster than physically possible. Definitely a morning workout!

Well, I like Dunedin a lot more by the light of day than when the bus first rolled into town. My hostel is just a few blocks from the Octagon, the city center, but there area is a little more downtrodden than I expected. Lots of “gentleman’s clubs” and secondhand shops. Having walked around more of the city, I can now see why this is called the “Edinburgh of the South” (“Dunedin” is Scottish-Gaelic for “Edinburgh).

There are some stunning old buildings and gorgeous churches. The railway station is just spectacular, too, inside and out.

Pretty, pretty, pretty. πŸ˜€

After all that walking and hill-climbing in the morning morning, I was craving carbs in the afternoon. All over Australia and New Zealand, I’ve seen and heard people talking about hot cross buns being a traditional Easter food but I’d never tried one.

Cinnamon glaze on the outside, raisins on the inside.

Was “Hot Cross Buns” the first song anyone else learned to play on an instrument way back in the day? Oh, those four seconds that violin held my interest…

The snack was just okay, a little more bread-y than sweet. Still, not a bad afternoon bite. Certainly a nicer taste of Kiwiana than Marmite. πŸ˜‰

Speaking of sweet eats, take a look at this incredible berry crumble I got before my big hike earlier this week:

The tour I was on included morning tea of coffee and a sweet. This pastry was literally the size of both of my hands put together. It was awesome! There were some brownies the same size but I decided to go the “healthy” route. πŸ˜€

Right now, I’m finishing up oats and tea before heading out for some museum-ing on a chilly and rainy morning. My tea addiction is back in force!

Which would you choose: chocolate or fruit pastries? Is BOTH an option?! πŸ˜€

10 Comments leave one →
  1. simone permalink
    March 26, 2010 3:07 pm

    lets not get hasty now, SF has some pretty badass hills…i challenge you dunedin! (PS i think my aunt lived there for a brief period…random!)

  2. Laura permalink
    March 26, 2010 4:21 pm

    Yes, to be honest, the area that your hostel is in is unfortunately my least favourite part of the whole city! The shopping area there faded into what you politely termed gentleman’s clubs and second-hand shops after the town centre moved to the Octagon and George St. I hope you’re enjoying your day and again, I’m so sorry (and disappointed) that I couldn’t meet you yesterday. I can never tell when I’m going to get a bad flare-up and of course it would have been this week!

    If you don’t go there already today, I highly recommend the Chinese Gardens too. And the cafe next door to the art gallery, Nova, is usually very good!

  3. March 26, 2010 5:42 pm

    fruit pastries, any day – or just regular bread. πŸ™‚

  4. March 27, 2010 5:58 am

    I definitely learned to play hot cross buns on the violin. Fortunately, I eventually moved on to more interesting songs πŸ˜‰ The buns look heavenly, though. I don’t think I’ve ever actually seen a real one!

    Too bad about Dunedin being run down. I’m glad you’re enjoying the beautiful churches, though. Chocolate for me, any day … but can’t I have both? πŸ˜›

  5. Susan permalink
    March 27, 2010 8:10 am

    Kudos to you for climbing that beast!

    It must be kind of weird to be in a town full of all these churches and museums and then see a ton of gentlemen’s clubs haha.

    Glad you’re still having fun!

  6. March 27, 2010 10:11 am

    the world’s steepest street – I didn’t know that was in New Zealand!

    You learn something new everyday!

    Hot cross buns and pastries and tea sounds wonderful!

    But I would definately have chosen the brownies – I am chocoholic I cannot help it!

  7. March 27, 2010 11:56 am

    Fruitiness all the way! I think I lack proper girl genes because I’ll never pick chocolate over other stuff and, unless it’s in chocolate chip cookies or in certain dark chocolate bars, I’m just not kookoo for cocoa…

    Those hills look KILLER. So much bigger than the Montreal hills I battled for a few years (though killer hills make for killer legs!). I think I need to go to SF for a proper scientific comparison, though.

  8. March 27, 2010 1:48 pm

    I climbed/ran a bunch of steep hills in SF this summer and can’t imagine anything worse! Props to you. That church is beautiful; looks a lot like one in NYC near me, actually. Hope you continue to have loads of fun!
    I would probably choose the fruit based pastry if it’s morning and a chocolatey dessert if it’s afternoon snacktime πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. There’s no place like home «
  2. Soak Up The Sun « Travel Eat Repeat

Leave a Reply

