Skip to content

Kiwiana

March 25, 2010

Dunedin, New Zealand:

Look, I spotted a wild kiwi bird!

No, not so much? Turns out those things are HARD to track down — a friend took a 5-hour night hike through the jungle and spotted one. And that’s actually unusual because apparently, they often see zero.

I could have paid $35 NZD to visit Queenstown’s Kiwi Birdlife Park but it’s not nearly as exciting seeing animals in cages as it is in the wild… obviously. Also, $35 (even in New Zealand dollars!) can buy a lot of burritos, to put it into terms that Lauren can understand. 😉

When you think of New Zealand, what springs to mind? I was browsing through a book on “Kiwiana” and had never heard of most of the items they mentioned.

Of course the kiwi bird is the main one.

Kiwifruit, naturally.

And then there’s New Zealand Marmite, which is apparently different from English Marmite, which is of course (or so they say) a totally unique thing from Australian Vegemite.

I’ll take their word for it and stick to peanut butter.

When someone mentions New Zealand, the main thing that I think of is gorgeous scenery and THAT is definitely true.

You know you’re far from home when the closest landmark is the South Pole… but New Zealand is definitely worth the trek!

Yesterday I arrived in Dunedin, a mid-sized college town. Downtown isn’t too scenic but I’ve heard the wildlife and natural beauty right outside of town is incredible so I’m going to take advantage of that over the next few days. Dunedin also has the steepest street in the world so let’s hope the ankle (the pain actually seems to have moved from my ankle to my foot — good or bad sign?) can handle going up and down that at least once. Cable car, anyone? 😉

New Zealand: what comes to mind?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 3:32 pm

    I hope I’m not wrong on this but I always loved the movie “The Man from Snowy River” and have always thought it was NZ they were depicting if it wasn’t in fact shot there.

  2. Danielle permalink
    March 25, 2010 7:38 pm

    Ahhh you actually found a kiwi bird! 🙂

    I tried vegemite before- henious. Gagggg lol

  3. March 25, 2010 8:23 pm

    LOTR?

    • March 26, 2010 12:50 am

      Can’t believe I forgot about that one! Duh — there are LOTR tours EVERYWHERE.

  4. March 25, 2010 9:23 pm

    Marmite? never heard of it, but i would stick to pb too!

  5. Ruth permalink
    March 25, 2010 10:50 pm

    Am I the only one concerned about this new update in your ankle problem???? What if you fractured it??? Okay, I’ll stop being a mom, now. Enjoy the lovely scenery!

    • March 26, 2010 12:52 am

      Aw, Ruth, I think you ARE more concerned than my mom. 😉 It feels a lot better this evening but when I first hurt it, the thought “oh my God, what if it’s broken… I don’t have health insurance!” went through my head a time or two. You’re too sweet!

  6. March 26, 2010 8:22 am

    Oh, Erin!! I’m just now catching up on your posts, and they are AMAZING!!! Sounds like you’re having the trip of a lifetime!

  7. March 26, 2010 10:05 am

    One of my good friends spent her honeymoon hiking and camping in New Zealand… her photos were breathtaking!

  8. March 26, 2010 1:17 pm

    Ha. You know what comes to my mind? The landscape. Because of those silly Lord of the Rings movies.

  9. March 27, 2010 11:50 am

    Sad but true: Flight of the Conchords! And sheep. Basically, I think of it as a farther-away Wales….

Trackbacks

  1. World’s steepest street «

Leave a Reply

