Skip to content

Australia will kill you

March 16, 2010

Cairns, Australia:

Australia is filled with animals just waiting to attack, maim or kill you. This one seems like a no-brainer but there are a lot of dumb people out there:

Fancy a swim at one of the Sunshine Coast’s beautiful beaches? Think again:

In fact, you might as well just stay on land. There’s a reason people in Cairns swim in a manmade pool and not the ocean:

But don’t get too comfortable on the shore:

Nowhere is as good as Asia when it comes to crazy signs. Walking around Seoul, there were almost daily examples of ridiculous grammatical mistakes, funny expressions and silly pictures.

Sadly, there’s a serious lack of Konglish in Australia (go figure!) but a few other signs have caught my eye.

Catholics wanting a second marriage? Visit Brisbane:

What a nice way to keep order. So polite:

When I walked by this house the next day, there were four 60-something, shirtless men sitting on the porch drinking beers and smoking. Totally makes sense:

Have you seen crazy signs near you? There aren’t any in DC as good as other places in the world!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 7:36 am

    Haha! I love the “asbestos manor”

  2. March 16, 2010 8:41 am

    I have a pic of that exact sign in Cairns. (one of my favorite places in the world) That pool in town center is so gorgeous with the ocean back drop. I had the best gelato of my life in Cairns.– Pistachio I believe. I can’t remember the name of the place though. Ahh I miss it. Looks like you’re having fun!

  3. March 16, 2010 9:52 am

    No crazy signs here 😦

  4. March 16, 2010 2:10 pm

    i’ll try my best to be “dingo safe” lol

  5. Lauren permalink
    March 17, 2010 2:18 pm

    Some of my best memories at fraser are sitting on the ground crying with laughter at my younger sister being followed around by dingoes, who were doing it for kicks, I think. She must have looked tasty. But every day, one would find her and she’d start running. But on the reef, ugh – I stood on a stingray and got stung by a bluebottle (Portuguese man o war) swimming in cairns. OW, so it does pay to follow the signs occasionally, ha ha.

  6. Susan permalink
    March 17, 2010 3:32 pm

    Hahaha I love it. Specially the “commit no nuisance” one.

  7. March 19, 2010 8:42 am

    Love “commit no nuisance” and the dingo sign is priceless! I take pictures of all the ridiculous signs wherever I go and must say it’s a tie between British “Watch For Humps” signs (signaling road bumps) and a sign at a Trini music bar/panyard that says “No Gossiping” over the bar area.

Trackbacks

  1. Sunrise, sunrise «
  2. Signs of the neighborhood «
  3. How you got here «

Leave a Reply

