Skip to content

The sun will come out on Fraser Island

March 8, 2010

Airlie Beach, Australia:

Pros of an overnight bus: if you can sleep, 12 or so hours flies by; save money by not paying for a hostel

Cons: if you can’t sleep, 12 hours creeps by sloooooowly; cramped legs

Needless to say, I’m exhausted and stiff this morning but it’s worth it to be in Airlie Beach and looking toward a trip to the Whitsundays tomorrow. But let’s rewind to yesterday’s trip to Fraser Island.

I was nervous about heading out there as it’s been raining continuously since LAST Friday (we’re on the 10th or 11th straight day) but the moment the ferry docked on Fraser, the skies cleared and suddenly it was a clear blue sky.

Fraser Island is the world’s largest sand island and even the rainforest is rooted in… sand. It also has the purest species of dingo in the world and we did see them but I couldn’t get a picture — we were in the bus and, surprise surprise, it’s not safe to get too close to dingoes, even if you want to take a picture. Honestly, they just look like mangy wolves. 😉

The highlight was Lake McKenzie, this absolutely pristine lake at the island’s center. The water is totally clear with very little marine life — sharks and eels live in the creeks and ocean around the island, but the lake itself has almost nothing. They offered the chance to go up in a small airplane and potentially see sharks swimming in the clear, blue ocean waters but I just couldn’t cough up the money. What a cool experience that would be!

Lake McKenzie

One of the most interesting parts is seeing the Maheno Shipwreck. This ship washed ashore in the 1930s and three levels are still buried under the sand; only the top deck is visible. Now it just sits on the island, slowly rusting away, but eerily beautiful nonetheless.

Baking in the hot sun, it was hard to believe that the mainland is absolutely drowning in water. My friend Lauren said that the area of Queensland underwater (or, you know, consumed by a downpour) is larger than the entire state of Victoria! It’s been raining since Byron Bay!

But not on Fraser Island.

Oh, and funny food story. A buffet lunch was included as part of the tour and although usually I stay away from buffets — there’s something off-putting about hundreds of strangers potentially touching/coughing on my food — who am I to turn down a meal?

It was your typical buffet: cold cuts, a couple kinds of pasta and a few veggies as garnish. But a girl needs her greens so while everyone else had normal-sized plates of a piece of ham, various types of pasta and a roll…

This monstrosity may have attracted one or two stares but it was GOOD. You’d better believe I loaded my plate up with every veggie on the buffet line. 😀

Buffets: beautiful or blech?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 8:51 pm

    I like buffets. Still do even after you bring up the touching and coughing on my food possibilities 🙂

    Glad you finally got to see the sun again!

  2. Susan permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:51 pm

    Gorgeous beach! And how cool is that ship wreck? It reminds me of The Little Mermaid or Pirates of the Caribbean.

    Buffets are a coin toss for me. They can be really gross, or so delectable-looking and well-kept that I can’t stay away!

  3. March 9, 2010 12:48 am

    ohh my god those pics are stunning! buffets are generally a no-go for me, bc i used to ONLY eat plain salads from there. and by “buffeT” i mean the dining hall at my school lol. nowadays i don’t have much exposure to buffets of any sort, but it’d be interesting to see how i do!

  4. March 9, 2010 6:32 am

    I am so happy the sun came out! Could you see any of the sea creatures from shore? What a neat area.

    Buffets are a blech for me!

  5. March 9, 2010 7:27 am

    I love Fraser Island- so beautiful!

    I used to do the overnight buses in Australia and I honestly don’t know if I could do it again. I was able to sleep if I had some space but it’s not a good night sleep thats for sure haha. I just remember the flight home being a lot easier after all of those bus trips, I was basically a pro at that point!

  6. March 9, 2010 9:43 am

    Wow! That first picture is so cool!

  7. March 9, 2010 11:09 am

    Produce is expensive do I would definitely load up when you can! Beautiful views! 🙂

  8. March 15, 2010 2:07 pm

    Not too sure how I found this blog but glad I did find it. Think I was looking for something else on yahoo. Not sure I agree 100% with what you say, but have bookmaked and will pop back to read to see if you add any more posts. Keep up the good work.

  9. July 19, 2012 11:08 am

    i was searching this topic coz i was require to make a decission, it made easy for me this decission , thanks for informative post,

Trackbacks

  1. The dirty truth: hostels «
  2. It’s the end of the road «

Leave a Reply

