Skip to content

Waterlogged

February 28, 2010

Byron Bay, Australia:

I want to post pictures of beautiful beaches, stunning shorelines, luminous lighthouses and enticing eats.

But it’s raining.

And not just a sprinkle. Since the moment I woke up in my lakeside cabin — leaky ceilings and all — it’s been a torrential downpour, the gods pouring down buckets of water to wash me away. I knew I shouldn’t have wasted time showering last night!

Let’s look at the forecast for the next few days:

Now, remember that I’m on the 2.5-week leg of the trip that is straight up Australia’s east coach, beach after beach, sailing trip after sailing trip.

At least I won’t get sunburnt. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Confession: There’s only so much unwinding a girl can do. Our hostel here in Byron has $$$$ internet and no lounge rooms so for the first half of today, my only activity was eating breakfast, reading, eating lunch, lying on my bed and staring at the bunk on top of me, and finally forging a path through the rain to grab a cup of coffee in town before my mind wasted away. Relaxation is great but cabin fever never was a truer feeling than today, when my nine roommates and I are completely confined to our cabin and its porch.

At least we have a cabin and aren’t bunking in tents like a lot of other people here.

So I don’t want to complain because I’m in a lovely part of the world, meeting fantastic people and having a really brilliant experience overall but… minor pity party. Rain, rain, go away!

How do you entertain yourself when the weather’s gross? There’s no TV or movies available, no Internet… it’s like being back in the Dark Ages! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Tomorrow’s post will come from Brisbane where, at the very least, our hostel offers free WiFi and movies. If it’s raining, that’s the place to be!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2010 10:54 pm

    the weather has been gnarly here too but at least i’m not on vacation and stuck indoors (sans internet! the horror!) hope it clears up so you don’t go totally stir crazy

  2. February 28, 2010 11:22 pm

    That sucks. Hopefully the weatherman is wrong for the rest of the week. Didn’t they torture people in the dark ages? Sounds like you all are being tortured now.

    P.S: the biggest loser thing was just a one hour documentary. Heard somewhere he’s trying to get in better shape and maybe show up at the end of the latest BL finale.

  3. February 28, 2010 11:29 pm

    OH my goodness! Your forcast is such a bummer. I hope your 9 roomies are fun or at least funny to provide some entertainment!

  4. February 28, 2010 11:49 pm

    I know the feeling of being stuck inside because of weather! But I would definitely choose to be stuck in Australia over being stuck in Blacksburg ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope you’ll see some sunshine soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Danielle permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:33 am

    Sorry about the rain (and the shower situation lol). But hey, it’s been snowing non-stop over here so it could be worse ๐Ÿ˜‰

    hmm…cards?

  6. March 1, 2010 8:21 am

    I hope the forecast ends up being WRONG WRONG WRONG! I do the same thing to entertain myself when it’s raining – read books. Or take naps or play games ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. March 1, 2010 9:49 am

    Ugh I would be so bummed. You really can’t go to the beach in the rain ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  8. louisianagrown permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:11 pm

    You guys need to get your hands on some cards or board games or something!

  9. simone permalink
    March 1, 2010 7:18 pm

    cards. saved my sanity on many a rainy night. get a hostel-wide game going! OR a fun game to play with lots of people: write down names or famous people (real or made up) and tape them to peoples heads, then everyone has to ask questions to figure out what the name taped to their head is. especially fun with an international group ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. March 1, 2010 8:57 pm

    Ugh, I don’t blame you for having a pity-party, that is totally not the kind of weather you want to see on vacation. If it makes you feel better, I am getting the same weather here- but of course I’m not on vacation. I am not the person to ask about entertaining yourself- I cry without the internet!

  11. meyergirl permalink
    March 2, 2010 3:36 pm

    How ’bout a game of charades? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Heading north «

Leave a Reply

