Skip to content

A little bit ‘Wicked’

February 24, 2010

Sydney, Australia:

In Australia’s big cities, it’s easy to forget how far from home I am.

This is especially true in Sydney, where the 19th and 20th century buildings were built to resemble much-older London structures. Gorgeous St. Mary’s Cathedral was finished less than a decade ago but wouldn’t look out of place in an English town 500 years ago.

And then there are the things that are exactly the same: the abundance of McDonald’s and Starbucks on every corner, people speaking English (something you don’t take for granted after living somewhere where no one speaks English!) and Heidi Montag’s plastic face staring out from magazine covers.

Seriously, she’s famous even in Australia!

Something else that never changes: good friends and good theatre.

My friend Stephanie works at the Capitol Theatre, where most touring productions stop on their way around Australia. The current show: “Wicked.”

I still remember Teddy giving me the “Wicked” CD in high school and absolutely falling in love with this show. I’ve seen it a few times since – in New York, DC and London – and each time, adored it more. So when Stephanie told me that before every production of “Wicked” around the world there’s a lottery for front row seats, there was no way I could pass that up.

Bam!

So front row is pretty awesome but I have to say, I don’t think it’s any better or worth paying more for than, say, 5th row. It was cool to see the actors’ expressions and costumes up-close, especially the intricate green bodysuit worn by Elphaba and being able to see the wig lines on Galinda.

Terrible picture but I loved all the old people drinking cocktails from fluorescent "Wicked" glasses 😉

Funny enough, the guy playing Fiyero apparently won “Australian Idol” recently and was by far the weakest member of the cast. I guess for every Kelly Clarkson you get stuck with a Ruben Studdard, too.

It was even more fabulous to hang out with Stephanie. We actually last saw each other in July – at the Capitol Theatre, of all places! 😉 – so it hasn’t been too long. But when you have friends living on the other side of the world, meetings are usually few and far-between.

All the Aussies (and me!) in Sydney last July

Hopefully Stephanie is coming to New York next year. Maybe?! 😀

It’s fun to have friends over here and be able to see them; there are hopefully a few other girls I’m meeting up with along Australia’s East Coast.

Do you like live theatre? What’s your favorite show?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jacquie permalink
    February 25, 2010 9:18 am

    I love live theatre! I used to be in our school musicals in high school and it was so fun. I love Wicked, but this summer I saw Rock of Ages that was a lot of fun too!

  2. February 25, 2010 9:18 am

    I love theatre, especially musicals. I think my favorite show is probably still the first that I saw – Les Miserables.

    I am trying to get tickets for Spring Awakening in March.

  3. February 25, 2010 11:14 am

    “I guess for every Kelly Clarkson you get stuck with a Ruben Studdard, too.” <— HAHA! you are my hero. i love wicked! i saw it at the pantages in LA, but i know it would have been even better to see in australia! those signs are so cool, pointing to diff cities in the world. those fluorescent glasses are badass. everytime i see your friend Stephanie's name i like to pretend you are talking about me. i hope i come to nyc next year too 🙂

  4. meyergirl permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:47 am

    The only Broadway show I’ve seen was Rock of Ages last year. It was awesome!! If you haven’t seen it you should definitely go.

  5. Susan permalink
    February 25, 2010 4:03 pm

    That’s so cool that you got front row! I love Wicked, but other favorites include Rent, Spamalot, Chicago, and Urinetown (unusual but one of the best recent one’s out there in my opinion!).

  6. February 25, 2010 5:59 pm

    Looks like so much fun! Yes I love live theatre, but I am not sure what my favorite show is.

  7. February 25, 2010 8:26 pm

    I’ve only seen Phantom of the Opera and Joseph. I love Andrew Lloyd Weber!

    I really want to see Avenue Q.

  8. February 25, 2010 8:34 pm

    OMG, I love Wicked 🙂 But I’m a broadway nerd so I love the majority of musicals especially Jane Eyre which I never saw but I’m obsessed with the CD.

    I agree with your comments about the capital. I work south of the city and live in Arlington, so when I drive home and see the DC skyline and the pentagon, I get a surge of energy realizing that I live so close to one of the most important cities in the world.

    Hope you’ve been enjoying Australia (sounds like it)! Have a safe trip!!

  9. February 26, 2010 4:17 pm

    It’s a tie between Phantom and The Lion King. We were on a one-year waiting list to see TLK in NYC and it was totally and utterly worth the wait!

Trackbacks

  1. Lucky ladies «
  2. Aussies: gorgeous AND kind «

Leave a Reply

