Skip to content

I’m baaaack

February 20, 2010

… In Sydney, that is. Loved this city the first time and so far, it’s just as amazing as I remembered.

Blogging from my iPhone because Internet wasn’t working on my laptop earlier. It took 12 hours to drive from Melbourne to Sydney – what looks like a couple inches on the map.

Our last day in Melbourne was spent riding the free tram around the city and hopping off at various sights like adorable Fitzroy Park. Spent some time at a green living festival in Federation Square – wow, love seeing how passionate Aussies are about sustainability.

Loose agenda for today: walking through the Domain and Botanical Gardens, maybe a peek around the Museum of NSW and an early evening. It’s hard to sleep much on a coach so we’re all pretty tired.

What’s fun going on in Sydney this week? Any can’t miss events or free attractions?

Melbourne was fabulously laid-back and beachy but Sydney steals my heart. Hoping to get pictures and a better post up later today or tomorrow. Thanks for bearing with me!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. ruth permalink
    February 20, 2010 10:19 pm

    we just got back from kangaroo island. can i say, amaaazing??? highly recommended. you gotta rent a car to really appreciate the place, though. and, fly from adelaide to kingscote- it’s a waste of time to get to adelaide, only to catch a 1 hour 45 min bus AND 45 more min on a ferry….finished bill bryson’s book, and i’m laughing as i see validation of his stories and information here…sturt/stuart/murray/darling IS everywhere!

  2. February 21, 2010 12:29 am

    I am glad you are enjoying it – sounds awesome!

  3. February 21, 2010 1:03 am

    i like that name “fitzroy” lol! something i would definitely name a pet cat or something. so glad you’re having a great trip, long car rides aside!

  4. Lauren permalink
    February 21, 2010 3:56 am

    Mardi Gras festival is next weekend (with parade and associated bits and bobs) which is always fun to watch.
    Chinese New Year festival starts from tonight – I’m sure if you’re near the city you’ll hear it anyway!

    Free/cheap things: hang out in the park next to Opera House & Mrs Macquarie’s Chair for excellent views etc, if you haven’t visited Manly yet? Take the ferry over and potter about, it’s beautiful and if you come back on the ferry at dusk (roughly 5.30pm at the moment)then you get Very Good views of the city skyline. If you like animals, Taronga Zoo for the novelty of seeing giraffes and the Harbour Bridge in one shot (ALSO: they have a new baby elephant at the moment). Very cool shopping/people watching: Oxford Street. Hang out at Bronte Beach for a while – Bronte has some good cafes overlooking the beach too. Hope some of that might help!

  5. Susan permalink
    February 21, 2010 8:44 am

    Ooh I can’t wait to hear about Sydney! I hope you can sneak some museum pics – I love museums haha! And I always get in trouble for picture-taking….

  6. February 21, 2010 9:14 pm

    I love love love Sydney. Love it. In case it wasn’t clear haha. Anyway, please do the Bondi to Coogee cliff walk for me, I love that! Also have you climbed the Harbor bridge? I didn’t do it when I was in Sydney but if I ever go back (and I will) I think I will do that.

    • February 21, 2010 10:23 pm

      Def doing that beach walk — looked into bridge climb but it’s $$$$$$. Going to walk across the bridge though and enjoy the views. 😀

  7. February 21, 2010 9:23 pm

    Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures in Sydney.

    It’s funny how some people don’t realize just how big Australia really is!

  8. February 23, 2010 11:18 am

    Can anybody tell me a bit more about Mardi Gras festival?

Leave a Reply

